Sunday Night Vinyl (Part 3)

We’ve moved onto Phase Three of HRH‘s Record Fair purchases – get this – this is one she bought for me because, well, she just knows I love me some David Bromberg.

The ‘How Late’ll Ya Play ‘Til?‘  album to be specific.

bromberg

How awesome is this kid?

Forget for a moment that the album cover depicts an overflowing jug of beer.

Some things you just can’t help.

Bromberg has been such an effective sideman for so long, it could be possible to not notice what a wonderful entertainer the man is when he is at center stage.  ‘How Late’ll Ya Play ‘Til?‘  catches Bromberg and a crack band having a fine time on mostly humorous tunes.

Of course, Bromberg does play guitar throughout the album, but the real attraction here is his bluesy vocal turns and his razor-sharp comedic timing.  Though ‘Will Not Be Your Fool‘  is his signature piece and is very well performed here, the highlight is the incredible ‘Bullfrog Blues‘.  The exact nature of this hilariously rambling talking blues couldn’t be conveyed in anything less than the 16 minutes that Bromberg takes to perform it, and if it could be communicated it shouldn’t, because there are delightful surprises here.  And, well, ‘Sloppy Drunk‘  is amazing song and a regular staple in Bromberg’s canon of live tunes in his regular shows now.

Like all great live albums, ‘How Late’ll Ya Play ‘Til?‘  will make you extremely sad that you weren’t in the audience the night it was recorded, and determined not to repeat the error should the chance present itself.  The shows themselves were captured at both The Great American Music Hall in San Francisco and The Record Plant in Sausalito.

Three amazing picks this afternoon.

I have no idea what I’m doing, but I’m sure glad it’s rubbing off.

Well, the music anyway.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

