Monday Vinyl in Corporate Hell

I’ve got the “Monday blahs” for sure.  Fortunately, I don’t have any planned workout this afternoon – good thing too as it’s humid as all get out outside uh-gain – so I’m just keeping on keeping on here in my cool basement office with a little World music courtesy of Johnny Clegg & Savuka and their ‘Third World Child‘  album.

clegg-johnny-third-world-child-3

So, first:  Who in tarnation is Johnny Clegg, right?  Well, he’s a South African musician and anthropologist. Hows that for a strange mix of influences?  Sometimes called Le Zoulou Blanc (“The White Zulu”), he is an important figure in South African popular music history, with songs that mix Zulu with English lyrics and African with various Western music styles.

C’mon, that’s kind of neat.

This then is the album (released in 1987) which led Clegg and his band Savuka to international fame.  The track ‘Scatterlings of Africa‘ (pretty much the sole reason I purchased the album for $5.00) gave them an entry in the UK Singles Chart, reaching #75 in May of that year.  Furthermore, the song ‘Great Heart‘  was covered by Jimmy Buffett a year after its release for his album ‘Hot Water’  and then went on to become his popular opener for all nearly all performances during the 2000 and 2003 tours.   Also, ‘Asimbonanga (Mandela)‘  is an anthem that has been adopted by Joan Baez and other hip North American folksters.

You know you’ve made it big when…

Anyway, it’s just another day here in Corporate Hell paradise; working on my presentations in my underpants while Kelly sleeps off her night shift with Tina the Cat.  I’m pretty sure this isn’t what Clegg was trying to get at in the albums title track when he devastatingly discusses what it’s like to “walk in the dreams of the foreigner”, just I digress…

It just is what it is, Johnny.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

