Fartlek Run (7.51k)

I’m a day behind my usual weekly run routine given the holiday last week and the subsequent Holiday Ride with HRH  (click HERE) – I regret nothing, of course – so where today is supposed to be “Tempo Day”, I’m instead making up my weekly fartlek run as I feel that, currently, this is the more important of the two.  My soundtrack for this cool, autumn afternoon run is another album from the Wintersleep catalogue, ‘Welcome to the Night Sky‘.

homepage_large-796c2dd7

This is the 3rd studio album from the dreamy Canadiana indie rock outfit which arrived shortly before the Halifax-based collective received a much-deserved 2008 Juno Award for “Best New Group of the Year”.  The album was recorded by Tony Doogan (Mogwai, Belle and Sebastian, Explosions in the Sky) at Glasgow’s Castle of Doom.

Wait, “Castle of Doom”?

Fuckin’ right!

How awesome is that?

While the style of this album is a bit difficult to describe than the other albums I’ve heard so far by the band (and, really, that’s one of the reasons why this band has resonated with me the way they have) the huge guitar driven soundscapes they create are comparable to, but not derivative of, The Cure‘s ‘Disintegration‘ album, with polished and epically-huge garage jams with a Death Cab for Cutie-esque vibe.

Some of you Canucks might already recognize the organ-driven ‘Weird Ghost‘ track, which kind of sounds like channeling Paul Simon with cleverly layered group backing vocals and subtle handclaps, as it also used to be the theme song for the ‘Cracked‘ TV show.  I never watched it, but some of you might have.  Both ‘Dead Letter and the Infinite Yes‘  and ‘Murderer‘  provide a platform for frontman Paul Murphy’s darker musings on mental illness, supported by guitars that twist and swell beneath like they’re trying to fight their way out of an unlit maze.  They may not be “inspired” running music thematically, per se, but they do certainly compliment those moments of my run when I’m contemplating my own sanity of doing these stupid 3 x 4 minute intervals.  Rhythmically, they’re pretty good as well, helping to establish a good cadence over 15 minutes of total suck.

The slow-burning ‘Laser Beams‘  is absolutely wicked and will likely be a part of my future spinning playlists, as will the last 8-minute-long track, ‘Miasmal Smoke & The Yellow Bellied Freaks‘; both a great title, and an epic anthem.

I love autumn running; the colors are in full force along Thunder Bay Rd., and it’s easier to breathe and focus when my heart and lungs aren’t liquefying inside my chest.  I’m slowly getting back to increased intervals and in another few weeks I should be back to the usual 60 minute fartlek runs – four months ahead of schedule.  Today, however, it was just the 7.51k worth before settling back into my work day here in my basement office.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

