Monday Vinyl

It’s cool and overcast out and I’m trying – really trying  – to put my head down and get a lot of work accomplished this afternoon.  Today’s gloomy day concentration music then is another off my “shame on you got not listening to this earlier”  Jazz Boner albums, the ‘Broadway Basie’s…Way‘  album by Count Basie and his Orchestra.

28205

Yeah, it’s true.  This is another album that has been in collection for, like, ever, yet I’ve never actually spun it for enjoyment.

Today is that day.

Essentially, the album is bandleader Count Basie and His Orchestra featuring performances of Broadway musical songs recorded in 1966 and released on the Command label.  Among the Broadway staples here are ‘Hello Young Lovers‘ (The King & I), ‘A Lot of Livin’ to Do‘ (Bye Bye Birdie), ‘It’s All Right With Me‘ (Can Can), ‘On the Street Where You Live‘ (My Fair Lady), and ‘Everything’s Coming Up Roses‘ (Gypsy).

And, yes, I do recognize and have seen most of these musicals before.  Well, at least their cinematic adaptations anyway.

Now before you go demanding that I hand over my Man Card immediately, know that my mom was a big fan of musicals and I remember being forced on the odd rainy weekend to sit on the couch and watch them with her.  Of course, I would have rather been watching cartoons or playing with my G.I. Joe’s at the time, but I recognize now that what she was attempting to do at the time was instill in me a bit of culture.

So, yeah, I know me some musicals.

Deal with it.

And today – 35 years later no less – here I am actually enjoying them.  Well, the versions as played by one of America’s premiere bandleaders that is.

Who woulda thunk it?

And if that ain’t “culture”, you pitiful schmucks, I don’t know what is.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other, Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

