Tempo Run (8.13k)

I began upping the ante on my weekly run workouts lately by incorporating a bit more intervals and, yes, even some tempo work.  In fact, today’s tempo run is actually more of a “progression run” (well, I’m going to try anyway) of 4 x 10 minute intervals (with a 5 minute warm down) just to see what happens.  Soon, these progression runs will become my regular weekend long runs so I had better begin getting used to them.  Anyway, today’s run is inspired by a little dose of Easy Coast alternative Canadiana (and “East Coast” doesn’t necessarily mean that “diddly-diddly” shit either),  the ‘New Inheritors‘  album by Wintersleep.

wintersleep

First of all, I have to say:  this album depicts my kind of heaven (much to Kelly’s chagrin, I expect).  This is the kind of place I’d love to poke around in and explore, so that’s a great metaphor for my discovering and checking out this bands catalogue of albums lately.  It also earned the band a Juno nomination ‘Recording Package of the Year‘, an award issued since 1975, as recognition each year for the best album art for a music recording in Canada.

Simply the Tits.

Anyhow, this album is actually the 4th studio album from the atmospheric Nova Scotia-based indie rock outfit released in 2010.  The album is comprised of 12 excellent songs, with strong lyrics. In fact, each album I have listened to the band seems to be getting better and better, so I’m becoming quite the fan.  Here particularly, the vocals are more tailored for this over the top sound, harsh but smooth.

Great for running.

The album opens with ‘Experience The Jewel‘  with a lush string arrangement which then builds slowly before slamming into gear with a sudden whump of the bass drum and unfolding into a truly enigmatic track, helped along by contrasting guitar solos.  A great start to an album that, track after track, keeps the momentum going as you wind your way through all the way to the end. Excellent for this afternoon’s 45 minute (8.13k) progression run I might add.

Encyclopedia‘  and ‘Blood Collection‘  are equally rich, and melodious tracks.  ‘Black Camera‘  rocks hard and ‘Preservation‘  is a beautiful track while ‘Baltic‘  is a terrific tune to close the set (and provide a decent warm down after the initial 40 minutes of suck.  As Siskel and Ebert would say “two thumbs up”  and four and half enthusiastic stars!

So how about the run, right?  Well, the new coach has always advocated allowing myself to fail in order to learn something about myself.  With that in mind, let me break the run down for you with the Good, the Bad and the Ugly…in reverse order.

The Ugly:

  • My shoelace came undone just at the very end of the 3rd interval  more or less killing my momentum/pace at the approximate 5k mark.
  • Therefore, I died a horrible death two minutes into the 4th interval.

The Bad:

  • It was damn windy out.
  • ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning felt fatigued for the first interval (10 minutes).
  • I was still able to slowly regain some composure into the last interval gradually speeding up again into a sub 5:00min/km  pace for the last minute or so coming up Point Prospect Rd.

The Good:

  • It was a gorgeous day for running temperature-wise.
  • Despite the shoelace coming undone, I was still able to achieve the 2nd overall best effort on Strava for the ‘Nigh Hill‘ segment (8:29)
  • This represents a personal Strava PB on this same segment for both time and pace (5:16min/km).
  • Trending faster on this route by 200m  over last weeks tempo run (click HERE).
  • Despite my dying 2 minutes into the last interval, I still improved my average pace today from 5:33min/km to 5:31min/km  over last week’s week effort (it ain’t a lot, but I’ll take it).
  • My first 5 kilometer intervals were all trending faster (6:00min/km, 5:41min/km, 5:27min/km, 5:18min/km, 4:57min/km).
  • Those last two kilometers were uphill!

So while this progression tempo was still “technically” a failure on the original plan, there were still lots of encouraging successes to be proud about.  Suck as it did, I think I’m on the right track.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Tempo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

