Easy Run (3.25k)

It has been another long weekend setting up and organizing yesterday’s Island Girl Half Marathon and 5k races on Toronto Island.  We camped over on the island the night before to set up in the rain and then endured the ruckus from a late night wedding party only to wake up damp and fatigued come Sunday morning in order to finish getting ready for the 700 women runners.  But getting to see so many smiling ladies complete their end games was reward enough.

The thing is though, that setting up these events is absolutely exhausting work and the next day I feel more beat up and drained than I do after any of my own half marathon runs.

Go figure.

I guess it makes sense when you consider that my own races of this distance last typically between 1 hour and a half to an hour and 45 minutes, while setting up and running the same event is a 14 hour day.  What this usually means then is that I feel like doing absolutely buckus the next day and, typically, I will take a full recovery day.

However, I still want (Need, maybe?  I mean, how can I not be a little inspired to run after yesterday?) to do something – even if just a little – so I’m going for a very easy 20 minute (3.25k) jog on today’s lunch break just to flush out my stiff and sore limbs.  My soundtrack today is the very short 20 minute (hence the duration of my run) ‘Black Refuge EP‘  by my favorite Swedish rock band Junip.

51xcoz2-84l-_ss500_

Okay, so they may be the only  Swedish rock band I know.

Sue me.

‘Black Refuge EP’  is the bands 2nd EP composed of mostly original songs, and an interesting cover of Bruce Springsteen‘s ‘The Ghost of Tom Joad‘.  It was recorded at Svenska Grammofon Studion, Göteborg in 2004 for Mute Records except ‘Chugga-Chugga‘  which was recorded much earlier in Vänersborg four years previous.

I don’t know what is it about this band, but I simply adore their sound and have been more or less hooked after being exposed to their track ‘Far Away‘  upon seeing Ben Stiller skateboard across a barren Icelandic landscape in ‘The Secret Life of Walter Mitty‘ (click HERE).

And, like Walter Mitty outrunning his volcano, – I haven’t looked back.

Besides the very unique Scandinavian cover of an epic Depression Era journey through America’s Dust Bowl, the highlight of the EP is actually the delicious ‘Turn to the Assassin’ which would be welcome on any future yoga playlist.  Likewise, it provided the perfect surreal ambiance while cruising through the new developing ‘Ridgeway-by-the-Lake‘ community going up behind us to check out all the building progress.  The track  ‘Official‘  is also a pretty mellow running tune and ‘Chugga-Chugga‘, while pretty, is over too quickly to really get into.

All in all, another great listen by this little known gem of a band.

And, now, onto my fish sammich.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

