Drill/Easy Run (6k)

I did ride 100 kilometers yesterday at the tail end of The Big Move Cancer Ride but ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning felt pretty good today so I’m taking them out for an easy (very easy) jog since it’s not ridiculously hot and humid out for a change.  THANK CHRIST!  Besides, the rest of this week is going to be touch and go workout-wise given other commitments so I may as well slip it in while I can.  Today’s easy tunes for a 6k easy drill run is the ‘Ballad of Lawless Soirez‘  album by Gill Landry.

220px-the_ballad_of_lawless_soirez

Released back in 2007 (Nettwerk Records), this is the debut album by former Old Crow Medicine Show alum.  However, Google this album and you will likely come up with diddly squat.  So I’m flying solo on this album review.

Essentially, the album is a collection of songs with more than a dash of the Southern Gothic about them, containing just the right expected mix of murder ballads, drinking songs and swampy folk blues a-plenty.  There’s a mixture of old country blues, jazz and songster music of the 20’s and 30’s; a perfect listen for this afternoon’s subdued pace.

In other words, it’s right up my alley.

If I were to try and describe it for you I’d say the sound reminds me of Johnny Cash ballads with…well, Mark Knopfler vocals I guess.  It’s like a more subdued and darker Dire Straits. There is also some nuggets of early Wilco albums as well.  You might also describe it as the soundtrack for some lost Quentin Tarantino film.  Is any of this making sense?

Another lovely aspect of this album is the mixture of instruments and styles. Indulge yourself in a delightful blend of funeral guitar, creeping fiddle, mournful cello, melancholy mariachi horns, mandolin, musical saw, upright bass – the list goes on. It certainly keeps things from getting boring, but isn’t schizophrenic or overblown to the point where you feel like you’re listening to a compilation album. Everything fits together with a satisfying little click.

Although much of the material is of a somewhat melancholy subject matter, this is still somehow a fun album. ‘Anjolie‘  is a rollicking good time reminiscent of a tango, while ‘Loneliness‘ simply makes you want to dance away your blues.  Like a pair of book ends, ‘Mutiny‘  leads us back to our day to day lives, allowing us to exit the album as gracefully as ‘Poor Boy‘ sucked us in to begin with.

The run today went fairly well and aside from the short bouts of walking in between my 500m of ABC drills, I managed to keep moving for a total of 3 kilometers (that’s not including the 2 kilometers I did at the beginning, mind you) without too much problem.  Hopefully, the weather keeps cooperating and I can do more of these continuous runs again and begin getting myself back into something that resembles an effectively structured run program once again.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

