Friday Night Vinyl

It was a monumental evening tonight as the kiddo and I completed 30 kilometers on her first “big girl” bike (click HERE).  I gotta say, I’m a pretty proud step-daddy.  We rewarded ourselves afterwards with a drink at The Sanctuary, some hot dog when we got home and now, before bedtime, we’re listening to the newest acquisition to her growing record collection, the ‘25‘  album by Adele.

img_0824

Now I know what you’re thinking, “the fuck, Terry?”

Really?

Adele?

And, yes, I agree with you.

But before you go demanding I hand over my Man Card, know that a deal is a deal and she did  hold up her bargain for 1 hour and 32 minutes of pedaling to Port Colborne and back so, yeah, here I am on a Friday night listening to an Adele album.

Titled as a reflection of her life and frame of mind at 25 years old, 25 is a “make-up record”.  The album’s lyrical content features themes of Adele “yearning for her old self, her nostalgia”, and “melancholia about the passage of time”  according to an interview with the singer by Rolling Stone, as well as themes of motherhood and regret.

Goodie.

Hey, at least it’s making the kid happy.

Truth of the matter is, this is HRH‘s payment for working the past three weekends with the SunRype Tri-Kids Triathlons.  So, if $29.99 is the total cost of having her slave for 24 hours in ridiculously hot and humid weather over 3 consecutive Sundays, as well as cycle 30 kilometers (55k in total this week) without bitching, hey, that’s money well spent.

I can’t say this album is up my own alley musically, but, truthfully, the opening track ‘Hello‘ is a pretty friggin’ powerful tune.  ‘Remedy‘  is also a pretty damn good song with lots of gorgeous piano.  HRH likes ‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)‘, a subdued, spliced electronic pulse, with just enough of a rhythm to distinguish the track from the rest of the record.  ‘Water Under the Bridge‘ is a song just begging to be played over the closing credits of an inspirational biopic

Honestly, I’m pleasantly surprised.

The girl can sing and the album is….*gag*….good.

Yes, I hear ya.

But there it is.

It’s poignant, eloquent and – dare I say it – pretty.  And where I was prepared to cite this in my Shit List category of albums, I’m not.  I mean just look at how excited I was in the photo above but, ya know, I’m kinda diggin’ it now.

Is it likely something I’m going to play over and over again?   No.  But I’m not exactly going to shit a brick when HRH does.

In fact, I kind of look forward to it.

So judge me as you see fit.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

