Core

The plan this afternoon originally called for an hour session with the heavy iron, except that I didn’t realize that the gym closed early on Saturdays given that I have usually completed all my workouts by this time.  So, instead, I only had time to slip in this quick 30 minute core session instead with the ‘Live at Third Man Records‘  album by Benjamin Booker.

tmr293_front_550

I had no idea who Benjamin Booker was.  I still don’t.  All I know is that I found this album one afternoon while trolling through the KickAss Torrents site before that went tits up and seeing that is was a Third Man Records release, I downloaded it since I am a fan of the label and love this series of live recordings.

I consulted the Google box when I got home and learned that Benjamin Booker is a New Orleans musician, singer, songwriter and guitarist who cites both Blind Willie Johnson and T. Rex as influences and whose music has been described by the Chicago Tribune as “a raw brand of blues/boogie/soul”.

Okay, so this explains why I enjoyed the album so much.

Booker himself has this to say about this album:

“This record is the result of a year on the road. Its the best nights of my life and nights I would give anything to take back. It’s sleeping in parking lots and sleeping with people for beds. It’s eating bad food with good folks. It’s makeups and breakups. It’s missing home and never wanting to go back.

Somehow I’m still here. Somehow the boys and I managed to keep things going. We learned from each other. We grew tighter as a band. The songs changed and on the night of September 24th we stepped into that building in Nashville to capture that.”

This is the off-the-cuff recording of Booker’s September 24th, 2014 stop at the titular label and studio founded by Jack White. Third Man’s warts-and-all aesthetic is a big part of White’s cachet of cool, and if you’re at all familiar with the label, then you know what to expect here: tons of energy and a warm, ragged sound that feels great turned up loud.
This album is absolutely no exception.

The only crime is that I’m only limited myself to a 30 minute mat session of crunches and planks while enjoying it.

Booker’s own material her make up 9 of the 1o featured tracks, with an amazing cover of Furry Lewis’ ‘Falling Down Blues‘ making up the last track.  It’s an excellent collection of songs that range from Black Francis and the Pixies (best exemplified on ‘Happy Homes‘  and ‘Kids Never Growing Older‘) to Steve Earle and the Dukes.  I shit you not.
Awesome surprise; awesome listen…great 30 minute core session.  Time for some Exploding Kittens and pint or two of ‘Pie With a Little Help From my Friends‘ at The Sanctuary to wrap up the day.
About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

