Hump Day in Corporate Hell (Part 2)

As morning spins into afternoon I’m making lots of progress of my modules, meaning I’m equally successful in blocking out all the other Corporate bullshit being carried on at other desks.

Yay me!

So continuing on with the whole “Operation: Block the Bullshit” theme this afternoon is the ‘Original Jam Sessions 1969‘, featuring Quincy Jones and Bill Cosby.

quincy-jones-bill-cosby

I know, right?

C’mon, you gotta give me some credit.

I’m getting good at digging up some pretty neat shit.

The groove here is loose and deep on these studio sessions which were intended as backing music for the original Bill Cosby Show sitcom in 1969.  Despite the title, Cosby appears on only one track here, the vocal version of ‘Hikky-Burr‘, where he improvised his entire part.  As it would turn out over 40 years later, he probably spent the rest of time slipping roofies into women’s drinks.

But I digress…

Quincy Jones directed these sessions with bassist Ray Brown acting as bandleader on all but one cut (the Cosby selection). Other players came from a revolving cast that included Joe Sample (Fender Rhodes); Les McCann, Clare Fischer, and Monty Alexander (piano); Paul Humphries and John Guerin (drums); Carol Kaye (bass); Arthur Adams (guitar); Milt Jackson and Victor Feldman (vibes and percussion); Eddie Harris, Ernie Watts, and Tom Scott (saxophones); and assorted others.  Jimmy Smith even makes a brief impromptu appearance playing an organ solo as well.

These are, true to title, jam sessions; the feel is everything, and whether it’s funky (‘Groovy Gravy‘, ‘Oh Happy Day‘) bluesy hard bop (‘Toe Jam‘), or down-and-dirty soul-jazz (‘Hikky-Burr‘, ‘Jive Den‘), the intention is the same: to grease up the proceedings for maximum groove quotient.

These are not terribly adventurous sessions, and the transferred sound isn’t perfect either, since these were rehearsals and never intended for release. But then, they are what they are, relaxed yet lively, full of delight and surprise…and oh, so perfect for blocking out extraneous office bullshit.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

