Thursday Vinyl in Corporate Hell

I’m training all afternoon so I’m spending the morning preparing my materials, reviewing my decks, etc., over a cup of coffee.  The perk today is that I’m training virtually so I’m at home in my basement office, meaning I also get to listen to some records whilst working. Corporate Hell is certainly easier to deal with on your own terms in your own environment, for sure.  This mornings ambiance then is the bonus vinyl ‘Back Ice Verite‘  by the Drive-by Truckers.

IMG_0725

I picked up this album eons ago at a Record Fair somewhere; I don’t remember where.  For whatever reason, it slipped into the back of the “To Get To” pile and I’m only rediscovering it now which is okay as it made for a most excellent surprise and lending towards being a great morning…for Corporate Hell, anyway.

This album was released in part with a DVD of concert footage of the entire album ‘English Oceans‘  performed live at a special show on February 12th, 2014 at The Fabulous 40 Watt Club in Athens, GA. I will have to watch this too at some point.  It features 8 tracks on a special 12″ colored vinyl; three acoustic performances (‘First Air of Autumn‘, ‘Grand Canyon‘, and ‘Made Up English Oceans‘) from The Hay Bale Session recorded the morning of their 2014 Bonnaroo performance, and 5 tracks from HeAthens Homecoming Weekend in Athens, GA.

Patterson himself says this about the album (DVD):

“On February 12th, 2014, we planned an intimate private ‘dress rehearsal’ show to premiere the songs from our brand new album “English Oceans” in front of a small live audience of friends. The plan was to film and record the performance for use in promoting the album. It turned out to be the day of an ice storm that essentially shut down the Southeast for a couple of days and the roads were unpassable from the combination of black ice and the South’s lack of snow plows and ice related services. We played the album in its entirety and had a pretty swell time. This DVD contains the performance and is a pretty nifty document of that moment in time for our band.”

You can view the trailer HERE.

Like everything I have listened to by the DBT, I love it.  Patterson and Cooley are two of America’s premiere story-tellers, and band is among the best out there currently.  I was fortunate enough to see the band during this ‘English Oceans‘ tour twice (Rochester, NY and Waterloo, ON) and these recordings bring me back to either of those two experiences instantly.

Rockin’ start to the day.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

