Relaxing in Kelowna

It’s been nearly one week here in Kelowna, BC and we’re definitely getting into the easy-going West Coast mentality.  Last night I was schooled in the popular frat game “Beer Pong” which, interestingly enough, has evolved significantly from my own alma mater days when we would just toss a ping pong ball into a plastic cup and force our opponents to drink.  Now, there’s an entire rule book that must be observed with so many conditions and guidelines that I got drunk just having them explained to me.  Oh well.

Later today we’re visiting the H2O Center for some fun recreational time with the crew and later, we’ll hit up the beach.  But right now, I’m enjoying a little downtime after breakfastwith my book, a coffee and the ‘Pieces of the Sky‘ by EmmyLou Harris.

harris-emmylou-383-l

‘Pieces of the Sky’  is EmmyLou’s second studio album, released in February of 1975 through Reprise Records.  However, it became the album that launched her career and is still widely considered to be her début.

The album includes Harris’ first high-charting Billboard country hit, the #4 ‘If I Could Only Win Your Love‘, and the relatively low-charting #73 ‘Too Far Gone‘ (originally a 1967 hit for Tammy Wynette). The overall song selection was varied and showed early on how eclectic Harris’ musical tastes were.  In addition to her own ‘Boulder to Birmingham‘ (written for former singing partner Gram Parsons, who had died the previous year), she included the Merle Haggard classic ‘The Bottle Let Me Down‘, the Beatles’ ‘For No One‘, and Dolly Parton’s ‘Coat of Many Colors‘ (Parton, in turn, covered ‘Boulder to Birmingham’ on her 1976 album ‘All I Can Do’).  On Shel Silverstein’s ‘Queen Of The Silver Dollar‘, her friend and occasional collaborator Linda Ronstadt sings harmony.

Furthermore, the album boats quite the cavalcade of talent, including former Elvis sidemen James Burton, Glen D. Hardin, and Ron Tutt along with guests like Ricky Skaggs, fiddler Richard Greene, and pianist Bill Payne of Little Feat.

Cool, right?

So, despite my easy-going mood and ambiance at the moment, there’s lots of shit going on here to enjoy on my little couch here at our rented condo this morning.  I cold get used to this…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

