Saturday Vinyl

My workouts are all officially done for the day.  And seeing as how I have another early morning wake up to be in Oakville for 3:30am tomorrow as part of the SunRype Tri-Kids Triathlon series, I’m doing absolutely buckus for the rest of the day.  Well, by “buckus” I mean I’m having a snack, cracking open my ‘The Road to Little Dribbling‘  book by Bill Bryson and chilling with a can of Grapefruit Radler and the ‘The Complete John Peel Sessions‘  album by The White Stripes.

White Stripes

This double album (one RED, one WHITE no less) was released just this past Record Store Day (2016) by Third Man Records, and essentially captures the anemic duo at the precipice of international renown in the hubbub of ‘White Blood Cells‘.  These two live sessions (recorded in July and November of that year) with famed BBC DJ John Peel are arguably considered to be among the best document of the Stripes at that time.  Vol.1 (white) was recorded at Maida Vale and Vol.2 at Peek Acres outright.

Having been widely bootlegged since their initial broadcast in 2001, these recordings are enjoying their first authorized release in celebration of it’s 15th year anniversary.  A wider release on standard black vinyl will follow later on in the year (suckers).

In addition to songs from ‘Cells’, the album also features tracks from the Stripes’ self-titled 1999 debut, 2000’s ‘De Stijl’  as well as covers of the MC5’s ‘Looking at You‘, Dolly Parton’s ‘Jolene‘  and Gene Vincent’s ‘Baby Blue‘.

I’d tell you more about it but I’m absolutely exhausted given I was up early at 5:00am this morning after, maybe, an hours sleep thanks to my congested and nasally challenged wife (I love you dear, but, day-um!).

It’s good – let’s just leave it at that.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

