Easy(ish) Fartlek (11k)

So run I did.  And an 11k fartlek run no less; albeit it was a bit on the easier side.

I didn’t really want to run to be perfectly honest but I figured in the end that a few intervals (2 x [2 x 15 sec HARD/15 sec jog, 2 x 30 sec HARD/30 sec jog, 2 x 60 sec HARD/60 sec jog, 2 x 90 sec HARD/90 sec jog] were called for to earn that fish sandwich I’ve been dreaming about since getting up this morning.  Likewise, it’s actually on the “cool” side and not terribly miserably hot or humid out so I was going to pound out a few kilometers, it may as well be today.

My listening pleasure this afternoon was the ‘Midnight Sun‘  album by The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger.

goastt_midnightsun

C’mon that’s a rockin’ band name, right?

Prior to about two weeks ago I had never heard of this band before.  I discovered them after doing a little research into the genesis of the amazing ‘Monolith of Phobos‘  album I really dug during a weights session as the gym.  I discovered that the band was formed in 2008 by Sean Lennon and model Charlotte Kemp Muhl as a way for the couple to spend more time together.  Awww.  It’s John and Yoko all over again.

Isn’t that nice?

Anyway, the couple had a couple of recordings and toured as a duo, and this album was one of their creative progeny’s released in 2014 on Chimera Music.

Whether they’re exploring gentle, Brazilian-influenced harmonies, drifting folk, or psychedelic pop, it’s clear that Lennon and Muhl are on a journey of creative exploration. On ‘Midnight Sun‘, the pair follow their artistic muse into the realm of fuzzy psych rock.  With its eclectic instrumentation and crunchy production (mixed by the master himself, Dave Fridmann), Lennon and Muhl create a musical landscape where seemingly anything can happen. Unfettered by their past, the GOASTT are free to chase their sweet melodies wherever they might go. This gives the album a carefree demeanor that invites listeners to forget about the past and get lost in its musical expanses, allowing them to step through the looking glass and simply drift along.

Although the album certainly has the unmistakable influence of Lennon’s father, it feels more like the unrestrained work of Tame Impala, Beck and The Flaming Lips, showing the fantastic potential of a small group working on the infinite canvas that is the modern studio to create a unique vision.

There are lots of nice harmonies and unexpected chord progressions. It’s very psychedelic in places which embody what was best about 60’s music, (i.e., experimental and tuneful, and lyrical and, shoot, words escape me at the moment), I’m just really digging it.  It’s creative, imaginative…awesome.

The run was okay, but nothing to write home about.  I kept it easy given I plan approximately 100+ kilometers through the hills and rural roads of Waterloo, St. Jacobs and Elora tomorrow.  It was made interesting only thanks to the sighting of a mangy fox from the side the road as I passed by.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

