Easy Run (7.3k)

It’s just another easy run this afternoon; nothing too hard or serious.  In fact, I even intend on doing some walking.  I’ll start again with the intervals in July.  For now, I’m just enjoying myself simply being outside and active, getting to smell the fresh blossoms along the Friendship Trail and the cool breeze coming in off the lake.  It’s glorious.  Well, today’s humidity certainly isn’t “glorious”, but I digress (only 7.3k covered today).

This afternoon I am listening to an old favorite, something definitely off my Desert Island list, the incredible ‘The Eight-Legged Groove Machine‘, by the Wonder Stuff.

51zsll98xgl

I glommed onto this album in high school from a friend Simon with whom I swapped CD’s periodically.  I listened to it on my Discman to and from school on near repeat for about 3 months.  It was unlike anything else I had ever heard.  Short, punchy…and shit-kickingly sarcastic.

It’s the La‘s with an attitude and I love it.

Like the Buzzcocks with the irony meter turned to 11, or a much less sweet-natured version of the so-called “blonde pop” bands of the time (Primitives, Darling Buds, etc.), the Wonder Stuff’s debut album was a crisply recorded batch of buzzy little two-minute guitar pop songs. What made the Stuff different was the arrogant brashness – bordering on megalomania – of singer/songwriter Miles Hunt.  Miles is a bit of a dick you see.  Once when I saw them in concert in Toronto, Miles proved this when a fan tried to take a quick snap of the band and he responded by encouraging a crowd to “Gouge the cunts eye out”.  The poor bastard had to be practically airlifted out.

Anyway, his lyrics, typified by song titles like ‘No for the 13th Time‘, ‘Give Give Give Me More More More‘, and especially ‘Astley in the Noose‘ (a scathing condemnation of dance pop focusing on the insipid but basically harmless Rick Astley) are cutting and sarcastic; what saves the group is the fact that they never actually tip over into over-the-top mean-spiritedness.  Not a one of these songs is less than catchy and memorable, and the best, like ‘Rue the Day‘, ‘Red Berry Joy Town‘, ‘Some Sad Someone‘, and my favorite ‘A Wish Away‘  are outstanding. The album is intended to be taken with a rather large pinch of salt, but it’s a most enjoyable listen.  This copy I’m enjoying today also has a few other tunes included that were not on my original copy of the album, including the magnificent track ‘Song Without An End‘  which even pushes beyond the 4 minute mark and, ‘Goodbye Fatman‘  is, well, it’s just there…just like this “run”.

So lots of fond memories attached to this album and it was a loose and enjoyable run/walk through the bad streets of Crystal Beach and the intoxicating aroma of suntan lotion and algae wafting off the beach.  At least the sun wasn’t out in full force, but that humidity today was a real killer.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

