Hump Day in Corporate Hell

I’ve started reading obsessively again.  At the moment I’m plowing through ‘Manson:  the Life and Times of Charlie Manson‘ by Jeff Guinn.

Don’t judge me!

It’s “research”.

So while I’m finishing up a few modules here at Ground Zero of Corporate Hell, I’m checking out a few snippets from this infamous fruitcake psychopath, with his ‘Unplugged (9/11/67): Volume 1‘  album.

tumblr_maqq88zqu21qjv5iyo1_400

This album is worth listen to for it’s candid historical significance; particularly since these tunes have only been made available recently.  Recorded two years before his twisted Family did it’s unspeakable acts, it’s complete and utter dog shit.  Basically, it’s just Charlie’s first series of acoustic studio demos recorded at Universal Studios, Hollywood on September 11th, 1967.  As you might expect, you get to hear the “King of the Wackos” prattle on between songs about ego, consciousness and other random bullshit that makes absolutely no fucking sense whatsoever.  Go figure.

It’s not like he was crazy or anything, right?

And then there’s that nervous, psychotic giggle of his which totally 100% creeps me out to the very core.

There are few moments that, providing he had a little assistance and guidance and, well, not been totally bat shit crazy himself, he might have actually had something interesting.   Tunes like ‘Clang Bang Clang‘, ‘Home Is Where You’re Happy‘, and the odd ‘Monkey/Lock n’ Loll‘  are all – dare I say it – catchy.  ‘Run for Fun‘ might have been an early David Crosby tune (minus the shitty guitar playing).  The dude can sure string together some neat licks when he wants to and, hey, who doesn’t love them a good jailhouse song?  The others, well, not so much.  It’s a cross of Charlie doing his best Frankie Laine impersonation, combing that with his past experiences living on society’s fringes, and then blending it all with his unique over-the-top Beatle-esque psycho-babble.

“I first realized that I was smart when I accepted that I was dumb.”

Huh?

Okay, so Lennon/McCartney he is not.

In fact, had Tate-LaBianca victims been forced to hear this crap prior to being visited by Family members on that fateful evening, they likely would have wedged their big toe into the trigger of a shotgun and swallowed the barrel themselves.

Should you listen to it?

Yes.

Will you like it?

Doubtful.

But if you enjoy unique glimpses into history and pop culture as  I do, then it’s certainly not a bad waste of 32 minutes.  I mean, it’s marginally better than these finance modules I’m working on…which is  saying quite a bit actually.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

