Easy Tempo Run (5k)

In lieu of this past Tuesday’s failed fartlek run I’m going to take it a bit easier today during my weekly 8k tempo run (disclaimer:  I say that now).  It’s pretty freakin’ hot out (27°) so I’m choosing to error on the side of caution.  So, really, it’s an “easy tempo”…at best.  However, I have been hydrating better the past few days but my legs are still a bit wobbly after a week of being pretty much inactive.  Oh, and there was last night’s awesome 60k “Buddha ride” through Winger and Wainfleet so, yeah, I don’t want to push it to crazily.  I do, however, have some good tunes to keep me going – whatever that pace may be – ‘The Physical World‘  by Death From Above, 1979.

death_from_above_the_physical_world_album_art

Death From Above, 1979 is a band that I’ve just discovered recently although they’ve been around for about a decade or so.  I was largely attracted to them at first because, hey, how awesome is that band name?  It’s killer.  I’m pleased to learn though that the band hails from Toronto, Canada and consists of only two members, Sebastien Grainger (vocals, drums, percussion) and Jesse F. Keeler (bass guitar, keyboards, backing vocals).

‘The Physical World’  is their 2nd studio album released in September of 2014, by Last Gang Records and Warner Bros. Records. It was produced by Dave Sardy, who has previously worked with Oasis, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Nine Inch Nails.  It was ultimately long-listed nominee for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize.

So, yeah, it carries some meaty weight with it too.

Basically, after a hostile split in 2006, Sebastien Grainger and Jesse Keeler gave each other the cold shoulder for a good five years, letting their breakout debut, ‘You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine’, stand as the only artifact of their whirlwind legacy. The pair eventually made amends in 2011, and this became their sophomore effort which ultimately picks up just about where they left off.

The album has lots of crushing violent, angular riffs (‘Government Trash‘) which are awesome for a hot, angry run, but there’s also some catchier songs that bring out the bands more conventional rock influences. ‘Right on, Frankenstein!‘  is a hummable Halloween-themed punk metal; ‘White Is Red‘  has dynamics worthy of a Queens of the Stone Age tune; and ‘Cheap Talk‘  is a catchier version of late-Seventies U.K. dance rock.  The first single, ‘Trainwreck 1979‘  is super catchy though and filled with great bass riffs; but still abrasive enough to be considered “hardcore”.  Well, that’s my interpretation of “hardcore” anyway, which lies in the grey area somewhere between the Stooges and early Ministry.  I know, I’m such a lame-o.  Anyway, just try and slow down when this ass-kicker comes over the earbuds.

Anyway, the run went exactly how I thought it would…shitty.  Did I mention it’s 27-fucking-° outside and, yeah, after a reasonable first 2.5k I was all like, “Nope.  Fuck that.”  And I walked the next 250m.  I knew in the first 300m of the run that I needed a Plan B, and that Plan B presented itself like a glorious mirage appearing in the middle of the desert at the corner of Ridge Rd. and Nigh:  “Hellllloooo,Point Pleasant’…take me home!”  And that’s all she wrote.  I was hot, sweaty, cranky and irritable…and all this after only 3k.  Fuck this.  By the time I was coming down my own street – in my head – I was more or less riding a hot sticky mess of self-brought, Grade A, “somebody-just-shoot-me-already-and-put-me-out-of-this-misery” fest.

But nobody did.  No water nor any sympathy stares were coming from any of the neighbors.  Nope.  None.  Here I’m dying nobody cares.

To them (in my head) I was this:

Of course, I’m all over now…thankfully. There’s nobody to blame in any of this myself for waiting too long to go out.  Because you know, 25°  isn’t hot enough, I should wait a bit.  Nonetheless, I’m glad I had the Plan B and that I managed to get out at all, and not end up as a greasy smear melted into the side of the road.

P.S.> No deaths occurred; no casualties reported.  Everybody lives.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Tempo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

