Fartlek Run (9.5k)

It’s been a glorious seven days off…err, make that eight, so it’s time to get going again and begin burning off all those added calories I consumed while in San Antonio beginning with my weekly fartlek run (click HERE).  And, looking out the window it’s going to be a hot one so I had better have some pretty inspired tunes to keep me motivated and moving.  I’m opting to go with on of my Desert Island albums, ‘Against Perfection‘  by Adorable.

mi0001473814

When this album was released in 1993 I thought it was the next best thing to twist off beer caps.  And believe me, I knew exactly what a strong sentiment that was at the time.   I just felt like the album was that damn good and, fortunately, 23 years later, I still do.

The shoegaze influences may be rife here (think Ride, Jesus & Mary Chain, et al.) the album stands on it’s own at one of the genre’s finest offerings, particularly if you have a sweet tooth for the 3-4 minute single.  The opening track ‘Sunshine Smile‘  that kicks off the whole album is simply breathtaking.  Of course, I strategically placed it later on so that I could take advantage of it mid-run rather than during my warm up.  The song is so good, it is worth the price of the album alone.  Alternating between an infectious arpeggiated guitar melody (with an absolutely killer harmony) and a crushingly heavy guitar riff that would make the Reid brothers weep with envy, it encapsulates what the very essence of the Adorable sound is: unbelievably catchy and emotional vocal lines combined with melodic and abrasive sounding guitar parts that work in tandem to create something that is at once both beautiful and destructive.

Most of the album aficionado’s however will cite ‘Homeboy‘  as it’s zenith and I guess you could include me among them.  It’s easily one of the most infectious pop tunes, like, ever.  Combining a brooding bass line with simple but effective guitar parts and moody vocals, this track is a total home run. Whoever thought that something this dark, moody and angry sounding could also be so incredibly infectious?  Much less while running in the 24° heat.

Think about it:

“I want to drown beneath the waves
I want to dig myself a shallow grave
And hold you up for all to see
I want to cut you up, I want to watch you bleed, ever so slowly”

Whether it dawned on me at the time or not, that’s some creepy ass shit.  And I remember everybody gleefully dancing along to this on the dance floor at Phil’s Grandson’s Place back in the day.

The list goes on and on:  ‘A to Fade In‘, ‘Sistine Chapel Ceiling‘, ‘Glorious‘, ‘Favorite Fallen Idol’, and ‘Breathless‘  are all easily hits in their own forthright.  Unfortunately, none of them was destined to save this doomed run.  I had initially planned to complete two sets of the above linked routine which I knew was ambitious given that it’s fucking hot out.  And the first time up the ladder from 15 seconds to 90 seconds wasn’t too bad…until my right hamstring began to tighten.

Shit sticks!

I have no idea why.  Maybe it was just my getting used to the hot weather, or maybe I tried to bite off more than I could chew after seven days of idleness, or perhaps it this gut full of Tex Mex I’m still apparently lugging around with me.  However, knowing that I’ve never been the best hydrator (click HERE for a past experience), I’m guessing that this was likely the issue given that I was sweating like the pig who knows he’s dinner.  Knowing that summer is finally upon us, I need to be more diligent about my water intake.  At least more than my to cups of coffee in the morning and cup of yogurt before my run as is per my habit.  No, I need to begin conscientiously taking more fluids in throughout the day now.

Once my hamstring began to complain, I decide to error on the side of caution and call the run off and instead jog/walk back home safely as to not instigate any unnecessary injuries.  I’m not proud of it but, hey, I’m learning to play it smart and pick and choose my battles and this afternoon’s battle had the potential to go south quickly, so I waved the white flag and limped the 9.5k back home prepared to fight another day.

Hey, at least the tunes were stellar.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

