Monday in Corporate Hell

It’s Monday and I’m back at the office trying to figure out financial budget models.  How much fun does that sound, right?  I shouldn’t really be bitching given I just had an excellent and relaxing weekend but, shit, let’s just say I’s still rather be home drinking craft beer.  I have to get motivated though because this evening calls for a 45 minute circuit training class and then it’s back in the pool for an hour.  In other words, it’s back nose to the grindstone training-wise.  Oh, and I guess I should probably do some work at Corporate Hell while I’m here today as well.  So to get the day kick started on the right foot I’ve plugged into the ‘In the Right Place’  album by Dr. John.

mi0001659894

Funk makes everything better, after all.

Dr. John finally struck pay dirt here with this album in 1973 and, truly, was “In the Right Place”. With the hit single ‘Right Place  Wrong Time‘  (which you might remember from the cult flick ‘Dazed and Confused‘) started bounding up the charts, this fine collection saw many unaware listeners being initiated into New Orleans-style rock of which the good Doc would become legendary.  The album also contains the Allen Toussaint (who also produced the album) hit ‘Life‘, and a funky little number entitled ‘Traveling Mood‘, which shows off the good doctor’s fine piano styling, and with able help from the Meters as backup group, ‘In the Right Place‘ is still a fine collection to own. Certainly, it became the biggest selling album of John’s career.

you really can’t go wrong with this album.  Take Dr. John: the dude is basically the white George Clinton, with his crazy head dresses and honky-tonk Muppet voice. Put him in front of a piano, get the Meters to lay down the tightest funk grooves you’ve ever heard, and add producer Alain Toussaint’s Cajun roots and you’ve got an exceptionally enjoyable album.

The music is uplifting and listenable; The Meters take the house down with some thick bass riffs, brilliantly arranged horns and tight-as-hell percussion’s.  Dr. John wails like a drunken Cajun cartoon character, which is such an endearing and appropriate compliment to this musical experience that you will not know how to listen to this kind of funk without a voice as original and funky as this.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

