Monday in Corporate Hell (Part 1)

It’s Monday, I’m at the office and I’m not excited about it.  I mean, really, who would be?  So to avoid swallowing the business end of a .45 pistol (or, in a pinch a Bostitch office stapler – hey, you make do with the tools you have) I’m listening to the live YouTube performance of Billy Bragg at the KEXP studio.

Seattle’s KEXP has graciously posted video footage of sets by bands that played live on the air (from the local bike shop no less) for the radio station during the South By Southwest music festival back in 2013.  Bragg has ben a regular supporter and performer with KEXP over the years.  This is simply the latest, a six-song, 33-minute performance by Bragg, who treated fans to four songs off his just released album ‘Tooth & Nail’, plus 1991 modern-rock hit ‘Sexuality‘ (a truly amazing performance), ‘Greeting From the New Brunette‘ from the stellar ‘Talking With the Taxman About Poetry‘  album (click HERE) and ‘Waiting for the Great Leap Forwards‘ (another highlight), the closing track off 1988’s ‘Workers Playtime’.  There is also a terrific cover of Woody Guthrie‘s ‘I Ain’t Got No Home In This World Anymore‘.  The best however is ‘Handyman Blues‘ which, truthfully (and I doubt Kelly would disagree), could be my own personal theme song.

Best of all though, similar to Townes Van Zandt and, say, Jeff Tweedy, the between song banter Bragg waffles off is just as poignant and entertaining as the songs themselves. To me, this is the mark of a true songsmith.   His musings on bikes and beards particularly is highly recommended.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

