Yoga

I’ve been indoors, like, all day, which is fine considering it’s also my official “recovery day” and I didn’t really have anything else on the docket aside from teaching my Masters Spin Class later this evening.  The thing is, I can’t stand doing nothing…I absolutely hate it.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I totally understand the purpose and importance of recovery but I hate being 100% idle for any length of time.  So, it has become my habit then on these recovery days – especially shitty rainy ones – to spend a little quality therapeutic time on the mat getting my bendy-twisty on.  I like to think of these slow yoga stretches then as something of a “treat” and today’s treat is set to Brian Eno‘s ‘Headcandy‘  album.

cover_14313952010

How trippy is that for an album cover, eh?

Now I know that I just listened to Brian Eno yesterday on my long run (click HERE), but Eno is best enjoyed quietly while doing something non-taxing and peaceful, such as I am doing this evening with this relaxing 40 minute yoga stretch.

Headcandy‘  more or less brings us back full circle to the trippy light shows of the psychedelic ’60s featuring a 30-minute dose of pleasing ambient/techno instrumentation courtesy of Mr. Eno.  Originally, this album was released on CD-ROM only in 1994, and designed to produce visual effects along with the music that could be multiplied throughout a darkened room by the refractive glasses included with the disc, similar to those cheapie cardboard 3-D movie throwaways.

Back then, that was  some pretty state of the art shit!

Unfortunately, I am not listening to or watching the CD-ROM.  No, I’m sitting (laying) here on a mat in the corner of the gym in full view of about a dozen meatheads in Herc and UnderArmour apparel.  Instead then, the album is an interesting one-time curiosity piece, about as enduring as black light art which, fortunately, I kinda like.  As you might expect, the music is still surprisingly hypnotic.  On ‘Manila Envelope‘  and ‘Beast‘  it actually works pretty well, with no small thanks to Robert Fripp’s guitar, which I’ve heard seems to have been glued to the lines on the screen and playing similar sound patterns like the colors you would see on the computer screen.  There is also some percussive and rhythm-oriented orchestration not unlike Eno’s early-1980’s work with David Byrne.

Truthfully, this was one of my favorite Eno albums yet, made all the more awesome-er that it has a track entitled ‘Spunk Worship‘ , whose name alone just  has to go in the pantheon of all-time great track titles.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

