Monday Vinyl (Part 1)

I’m half way through the work day and I’m making progress on my assignment.  Figuring it had something to do with the very rhythmic percussion from my previous listen, I’m keeping with that theme and going with something similar, yet from my collection of  Cornball albums, ‘Bongos, Bongos, Bongos‘  by the Los Admiradores.

Bongos

Because, hey, who doesn’t love bongos?

Not this guy!

Essentially, it’s an Enoch Light production (released on Command Records) released in 1959 and loosely disguised as a Latin record.  The bongo stylings are provided by Willie Rodriguez and Don Lamond who basically go bongo crazy over backings provided by a pretty sweet jazzy Enoch Light band that features the usual suspects (Tony Mottola, Ted Sommer, Pee Wee Erwin etc.).

The album features a bunch of jazz/pop standards including takes on ‘All of Me‘, ‘Blue Moon‘, ‘Unchained Melody‘ and – get this – ‘Greensleeves‘, all with pretty cool arrangements and, of course, mad bongo breaks galore. Bluesy guitar lines and tight orchestration actually make this record listenable and there even a couple sample loops and breaks.  Sure, I’m not likely going to throw it on regularly or anything but, hey, it’s doesn’t diminish the overall awesomeness of my collection as a whole with it’s being there.  Overall a pretty nice little LP for what it is.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

