Friday Vinyl (Part 2)

HRH  has recently expressed an interest in Frank Zappa after hearing one of my bootlegs in the car the other day but, thing is, Frank Zappa isn’t necessarily appropriate listening for an 11-year-old girl.  But then again, he is pretty fucking cool so I also kind of feel this urge to help her scratch that itch at the same time; total step dad problem, I know.  I’ve decided then after a quick Facebook poll from all my fellow music snobs friends that her first experience is going to be the ‘Apostrophe‘  album.

Frank Zappa

‘Apostrophe’   was Zappa’s 18th album, released on March 22, 1974. An edited version of its lead-off track, ‘Don’t Eat the Yellow Snow‘, with it’s infamous doggie wee wee jokes, was the first of Zappa’s three Billboard Top 100 hits, ultimately peaking at #86….

…yadda, yadda, yadda.

From an an 11-year-old perspective, how can you miss with an album that features songs like ‘St. Alfozo’s Pancake Breakfast‘  and ‘Stink Foot‘?  You can do no better, believe me.  The first half of the album loosely follows a continuing theme. ‘Don’t Eat the Yellow Snow‘  and ‘Nanook Rubs It‘ tell of a dream the speaker had where he saw himself as an Eskimo named Nanook.  And, hey, with lyrics like “He took a dog doo snow cone and stuffed it in my right eye”, well, it sure helps keep a child’s attention let me tell you.  I haven’t seen her this attentive to a song (Michael Jackson aside, that is) since, well, I don’t know how long.  I mean, this may have been the longest she’s gone without her “woob-woob” (iPad) in months.

The second half contains the instrumental title cut, featuring Jack Bruce on bass; ‘Uncle Remus‘, and a return to the album’s earlier silliness in ‘Stink-Foot‘  which has her in absolute giggles so, yeah, another big hit with HRH  for sure.  Wait, an 11-year-old girl actually likes Frank Zappa.

Huh.

Then again, it could just be that she has this thing for guys with big mustaches a la Jim Croce (click HERE).

Go figure.

Anyway, I can just see the wheels turning in that brain of hers:  what is ‘Cosmik Debris‘, and why was the man “jiving” him with it?  Why is the the instrumental ‘Apostrophe‘ so different yet so awesome?  Why did the man have the argument with the dog after the discussion of the importance of personal hygiene in ‘Stink Foot‘?  Her little pre-adolescent brain is absolutely swirling.

Fortunately, I have many more albums to keep that brain engaged.  What a merry time of misrule the coming weeks are going to be.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

