Thursday in Corporate Hell (Part 1)

I had originally planned to go to the gym this morning but I got lazy and opted for an extra hour of sleep instead…sue me.  Not that it really mattered much with three little furry assholes scratching outside the bedroom door but, hey, what ya gonna do?  Anyway, I’m at Ground Zero of Corporate Hell now and settling in for my regular work day with the ‘Funky Stuff‘  album by Jiro Inagaki & Soul Media.

jiro-inagaki-funky-stuff-342x350

I missed the “4/20” holiday yesterday so I should probably be going in the direction of more tripped out stoner rock today (hey, better late than never) but I’m not feeling it at the moment and preferring to go with some lesser known “wewantthefunk” instead.

Okay, so who in name of sweet funky Jesus is Jiro Inagaki, right?  Well, Inagaki is a popular Japanese saxophonist and flautist (yes, “flautist”) from the 60’s and 70’s.  So there you have it, I’m listening to old school Japanese funk.

How hip am I?

It’s hard to put this album in any one genre because it has elements of funk, jazz, and other crossover elements.  There is an instrumental cover of Kool & the Gang’s ‘Funky Stuff‘  which is quite memorable and would fall firmly in the funk genre.  Yet, tunes like ‘Breeze‘  and ‘Gentle Wave‘  sound like they belong on a Bob James album in that they are so heavily dominated by the use of the Fender Rhodes piano.  The track ‘One for Jiroh‘  is a reworking of the jazz standard ‘I Remember Clifford‘.  The most memorable track in my opinion is ‘Four Up‘  which closes the album.  Rhythmically and harmonically it reminds me a lot of Herbie Hancock‘s famous chart topper ‘Chameleon‘  and, similarly, is an excellent vehicle for some really amazing saxophone and trombone solos.

It’s a great start to the day, so the chances are now good given how awesome this album is, I’m not likely going to virtually dropkick somebody in the jewels when the first stupid request pops into my email this morning.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

