Sunday Vinyl (Part 2)

So it may not be something acquired yesterday for Record Store Day, but as is our custom, if I pick something to listen to HRH  gets to choose the next selection.  So her choice then is the 2nd part of the Easter Bunny’s one-two punch addition to record collection (click HERE  for the first punch), the ‘Business as Usual‘  album by Men at Work.

Men at Work

It’s a little difficult to rationalize this album as “Easter appropriate” but, meh, whatever, it made HRH  happy – so be it.

Personally, this was one of my personal favorite albums growing up and I still have the album in my closet collection of cassettes.  I listened to this album on my fancy Walkman while delivering newspapers and cutting the lawn on the weekends.  HRH  knows it, specifically the “sandwich song” from hearing it on the car radio.

“Buying bread from a man in Brussels
He was six-foot-four and full of muscles
I said, “Do you speak-a my language?”
He just smiled and gave me a Vegemite sandwich”

‘Business as Usual’  is the debut album of the Australian pop rock band, which was released in November of 1981 in Australia, and April of 1982 in the United States. The group members consisted of Greg Ham on flute, saxophone, keyboards and vocals; Colin Hay on vocals and guitar; John Rees on bass guitar; Jerry Speiser on drums and backing vocals; and Ron Strykert on lead guitar and vocals. ‘Business as Usual’  was one of the most successful albums internationally by an Australian group. It spent an unprecedented 15 weeks at #1 on the US Billboard 200 from late 1982 to early 1983; and five weeks at No. 1 in the United Kingdom Albums Chart in early 1983.  It was also one of the highest selling Australian albums in the early 1980’s, with 6 million copies sold in the US, and 15 million sold worldwide.

The first single from the album, ‘Who Can It Be Now?‘, was released in Australia in June of 1981, prior to the recording of the rest of the album. It reached #2 on the Australian Kent Music Report Singles Chart in August that year.  The second single, ‘Down Under‘ (the “sandwich song”), which was issued in October peaked at #1 for six weeks.  A third single, ‘Be Good Johnny‘ (my personal favorite), appeared in April the following year and reached #8.  ‘Helpless Automation‘  is also pretty cool.

It’s funny how this whole vinyl thing has both opened up a new world for HRH  while reopening a door for me that I long since passed through eons ago and am just beginning to get reacquainted with again.

*Sigh*…nostalgia.

Such is the majesty of records.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

