Long Run (10.82k)

Since the whole Ironman thing has been more or less yanked out from underneath me (click HERE), I’m still at kind of a loss as to what to do regarding my long runs.  I’m torn between keeping up my distance chops and alleviating myself some unnecessary wear n’ tear on the weekends by instead focusing on shorter, faster intervals through the week to develop my cadence.  In the end, I’ve decided that my “long runs” on the weekends needn’t be anything aside from simply getting out, doing something healthy and active, getting some fresh air in my lungs and burning some much needed calories. So with that in mind, I decided then to keep today’s effort to just 60 minutes (10.82k) following the spin class I also covered this morning with this throwback to the 80’s, the ‘Power, Corruption & Lies‘  album by New Order.

neworderpowercorruption26lies

Don’t judge me.

I remember back to Grade Nine when all the “Preppies” would walk around in their safety-pinned tapered jeans and Ralph Lauren Polo shirts with New Order scrawled on their pencil cases (and knapsacks) in liquid paper.  I thought it was weird as I was more into the popular FM radio pablum a la Rick Astley at the time.  I know, I’m so ashamed.  If I could go back in time I’d beat myself up, believe me.  Besides, if I had ever scrawled anything on my pencil case or knapsack, my mother would have inevitably killed me.

However, a year or so later (not to mention more chiding and teasing than I care to bring up) I finally got around to discovering who New Order were exactly.  And, although she doesn’t likely remember this, my wife also happens to be the one who introduced me when she made me a “mix tape” of songs, of which had the hugely popular ‘Blue Monday‘  (the best-selling 12’ single of all time no less) on it which also happens to be on this 2008 “Collector’s Edition” I’m currently listening to.  That definitely brought a bit of a smile to my face this morning, for sure.

‘Power, Corruption & Lies’  is the 2nd studio album by the Bristol, released in May of 1983 on the popular Manchester-based label Factory Records. The album features lots of electronic-based tracks with a heavy use of synthesizers. And while a part of me was skeptical I would enjoy this album today, as it turns out, it’s pretty awesome.  Nearly perfect motivating a decent running pace as fate would have it.  I wonder then what my 14-year-old self would have thought about my listening to this album 30 years in the future while running?

Historically, this album cemented New Order’s place as the most exciting dance-rock hybrid in music at the time (and the original album didn’t even include the massive ‘Blue Monday‘ single which was released earlier that year).  The record simply pops with energy from the beginning ‘Age of Consent‘, an alternative pop song with only a smattering of synthesizers overlaying an assured Bernard Sumner, who took his best vocal turn yet.  There are the huge club hits ‘The Village‘  and ‘586‘  which pretty much have all the technological firepower of the mighty ‘Blue Monday‘.  And, then, there’s still the will for Joy Division-esque moodiness like the 2nd track ‘We All Stand‘, over five minutes of pure dubbed-out melancholia.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this morning’s stroll through  the 80’s.  The run wasn’t bad either as I got to run along some new back roads of Port Colborne and Bethel.  And, hey, today also marks my first “shorts and t-shirt’ run of 2016!   Let’s hope this nice weather is back to stay…for good!

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long Run (10.82k)

  1. Kelly says:

    I’d be suitably impressed if you still have that mix tape somewhere ! ♡

Leave a Reply

