Friday Vinyl in Corporate Hell

I’ve been stranded in my basement office pretty much all day working on PowerPoint presentations.  Sounds like fun, right?  Not!  The only good thing is that I get to set my day to whatever theme I choose depending on which record tickles my fancy, and this afternoon my fancy chooses something from my slowly-growing Cornball collection, the awesome ‘Hatfields and the McCoys (The Great Vendetta)‘  by Jimmy Wolford.

Hatfields & McCoys

Basically, this is a musical narrative of the infamous Hatfield and McCoy feud that raged between two rural families of the West Virginia–Kentucky area along the Tug Fork of the Big Sandy River starting in 1863 and lasting until 1891.

Who said records weren’t fun?

This album was released on the label Wolf Records (catalog number WO 1000) in 1976.  If you’re really lucky, the album will have a rare insert of an old newspaper from the time of the feud…such as min does.

WINNING!

Anyway, the facts presented on this album were researched over many years by Wolford and his two co-writers Bob Stanley and Larry Johnson.  Together, they set the story to song in it’s entirety.  Jimmy originally began his involvement with the Hatfield-McCoy saga many years before his Naval days.  Since then, he has enlisted descendants of the feuding families to create something of a musical encyclopedia on the subject.  And while millions of words have been written about this epic feud, this album is a first in presenting that story set to music.

That’s pretty fucking cool, right?

As far as the music itself goes, there’s a whole cast of amazing musicians in this ensemble including Charlie McCoy who has backed everyone from Elvis Presley to Bob Dylan to Ween for God sakes!  Then there’s popular Nashville session musician Bob Moore, Hargus “Pig” Robbins, Kenny Malone, Dave Kirby, steel guitar guru Weldon Myrick, Dale Sellers, Western Swing disciple  Johnny Gimbel, Bobby Thompson, Grady Martin, Ray Edenton, Jerry Shook, and Lloyd Green.  So you’re in pretty good hands there too.

All in all, it’s an excellent, educational and entertaining listen for sure.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

