Monday Afternoon in Corporate Hell

Four hours down; only another four to go.

Shoot me.

I need more gypsy psychedelia – STAT

So sticking with 1968 for the time being, I’m next going with Gabor Szabo‘s ‘Dreams‘  album.

dreams_20081119124347

Here, Szabo ambitiously pairs his outstanding quintet (featuring Jimmy Stewart) with Gary McFarland’s subtle Eastern raga-like string and horn arrangements in a collection of originals, pop covers, and classical reinterpretations.  This is one of his more haunting and moody albums, sometimes even leaning into classical but always soaring through with his mystical phrases and rhythms.

The set features a nice selection of originals and pop covers.  Szabo wrote three of the songs on the alb um and I am sure had much to do with the arrangments of the other selections, especially with his interpretation of Donovan’s ‘Ferris Wheel‘, arguably the strongest piece on the album.  Apparently, Szabo really had a hard-on for the Scottish troubadour, eh?

While maybe not quite as mind-blowing as the previous two albums I’ve enjoyed, this is still no slouch in the ‘Like WOW man!‘ category.  Likewise, it is  something that really needs to be heard to be believed (click HERE).

What would you ever do without me?

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

