Vinyl Sunday (Part 1)

I can be such an idiot sometimes.  As it turns out, yesterday was not the Hamilton Record Fair…today  was…meaning that means HRH  and I drove the hour trip to the Hammer for nothing.  FML.  Luckily, right across the street from the Crowne Royal Hotel where it was being held is Cheapies Records & Tapes.  So in an effort to recoup something from this trip we ventured in an browsed.  And that’s where I found this ‘Live at Third Man Records‘  album by Parquet Courts.

Parquet Courts

I’ve become something of a Jack White fan lately, and his Nashville-based Third Man Records label/studio particularly.  I already own two other albums in this live series (click HERE  and HERE) produced in the Blue Room venue-cum-recording studio.  Basically, this album is essentially the bands 2014 ‘Sunbathing Animal (of its 11 tracks, this release features 10 songs from that record) if it were left to scorch in the desert a little longer, recorded directly to acetate before a small studio audience on June 5th of last year.

The whole album kicks off with a breathless, uptempo performance of ‘Duckn’ & Dodgin‘ and the performance simply does not let up from there through a series of short and punchy numbers which are all raw, unbridled and loud.  ‘What Color is Blood‘  that ends out the first side is also pretty smokin’.  The band then draws a few tunes out into longer jams for Side Two, ‘Instant Disassembly‘  and ‘Raw Milk‘  particularly.  This is true garage rock at it’s finest, with undertones of, say, the Velvet Underground‘s ‘White Light/White Heat‘ (click HERE) – I shit you not!

It is clear here that the band are certainly having a blast through this entire performance and the music is wiry, edgy and full of vim and vigor.  A great addition to the collection.  Even HRH  approves when she looks up from her “woob-woob” (iPad) for a split second to inquire who it is.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

