Yoga

Around the Bay didn’t go quite the way I’d hoped.  In fact, it was a complete dumpster fire of epic proportions which has left me very  disappointed, discouraged and, ultimately, searching for the inevitable learning opportunities going forward into April’s Ironman training program.   So it’s these lessons that I’m trying to contemplate and strategize my lizard brain around this evening on the mat while I do 30 minutes worth of light, therapeutic stretching on my sore and fatigued leg muscles prior to teaching this evenings Master’s Spin Class.  Anyway, I have the perfect 30 minute album to occupy that contemplative time, the ‘City Lights Align‘  album by Wayne Petti.

mi0000859077

I was afforded this album from one of my USB exchanges last month (thanks, Dan!).  It was originally released in 2007 on the Outdoor Music label.  Wayne is better known as the singer-songwriter for Canadiana indie rock darlings Cuff the Duke.  He has also contributed to projects by Blue Rodeo, The Hylozoists and Hayden in addition to releasing material on his own and as part of his side-project Grey Lands.

For the most part, the album (his first solo project) is a collection of short 2 – 3 minute introspective and simple ditties; a great example of Petti’s talents as a talented song-smith.  There are snatches of Springsteen’s Nebraska‘  (click HERE) in the heavily echoed desperation of the first few tracks, ‘Falling Behind‘,” ‘Moment By Moment‘,” and ‘Price To Pay‘. ” But eventually the album settles into an easy, acoustic, country pop groove, exemplified in ‘Up On The Hillside‘.”  One might even make the connection with Bright Eyes as well on songs such as ‘The Only Only One‘ which was my particular favorite stand out on the album.

Anyway, yadda yadda yadda, what lesson’s did I come up with about yesterdays shit show of a race, right?

Well, first, I know that while practicing my cadence is important, I still have to have some good distance in my legs prior to anymore long events.   I mean, if ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning aren’t used to the longer distances then pace is kind of a moot point.  Secondly, I need to better examine my nutritional strategy.  I’ve never really dialed into this the way I know I should.  Basically, my lack of nutrition during the run likely meant that when my body ran out of glucose and glycogen in the muscles, it switched from using fatty acids as fuel to catabolizing muscle tissue, hence the feeling of my quads being torn apart – especially when the hills started around the 18k point.  The dried honey dates just aren’t cutting it anymore.  Thirdly – and taking the nutrition thing a step further – I need to really focus on eating (and hydrating) healthily more regularly.  I started off great and then, well, life got busy and I started cheating periodically, then more frequently and then, well, you get the picture right?  I need to better realize that I am eating to fuel my body every  day in the days and weeks leading up to any event (or major workout) rather than just in the mere hours before.

So that’s what went through my head for 30 minutes of gentle stretching in the corner of the gym.  Hopefully, this quiet reflection on yesterday’s failures will pay off in big dividends in the future providing I can – you know – actually put it all into practice.

Onward and forward as they say.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Gym and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

