Easy Recovery Jog (2.5k)

Today’s fartlek run was actually divided into two stages, the first part being the warm up and the 6 x 2 minute intervals directly, and then this slow and steady 2.5k recovery jog limp home.  Seeing as how the Big Sugar album didn’t cover the whole workout outright, I added on another short but sweet Canadiana offering in the ‘Steep‘ EP sent to me from Bryson Waind and the Citizen’s Band to serve as the last 2.5k recovery portion of this afternoon’s shit show of a workout.

ep cover copy(1)

Bryson shared these tracks with me a while ago after I reviewed his last album back in January and while I am already familiar with Bryson‘s other two past albums, I am not so familiar with his new Citizen’s Band so I Googled their bio and here’s what I found:

The Citizens’ Band formed at a weigh scale near Leduc, AB. Hauling steel or a load of beer or knock-off purses from China, each was overloaded, and with their log-books behind they knew they were in for a rough ride from the Alberta DOT. Near blinded by diesel exhaust, through the haze, each saw the other, and then another; another, who, like himself had country music in his heart.

Home in Calgary, they met again, this time with instruments in hand, to rehearse the songs that had brought them together that fateful night in the foothills. Country rock and cold beer would be at the heart of this band, from the start, and to the end.

Chris Nevile, on the keys, is a member of No River and The Von Zippers. Steve Hazlett, has played around town these long years and is concurrently the drummer with Heather Blush and The Upper-Cuts. Mark Williams has covered a lot on the bass, now he puts his own heavy stamp on the Citizen rhythm. Gord Adam, known for his time with National Dust, lights up the jams on the electric guitar. Bryson Waind strums the acoustic, writes the songs and sings them.

The first two tracks, ‘The Way the Crow Flies‘  and ‘Empty Sidewalks‘ are typical Bryson songs full of remorse, regret and loss.  Perfect for how I feel at this moment while limping home in the rain.  ‘Daddy’s Old Gun‘  however, showcases a different side from Waind I didn’t even know existed.  Likely, this is the band’s influence to show off their collective talents with a ripping electric guitar, driving organ and lots of boot stomp around a great story of shooting off old guns, which, I’m sure they do a lot of out west.  In all honesty, this track would have probably have been better served earlier during my intervals but, anyway, I dig it nonetheless.

My question though, is why ‘Steep‘?  There’s still lots of liquor-soaked references in the track so I doubt Bryson or the band has become teetotaler’s or anything but, hey, who am I to judge?  Truth of the matter, as cold, wet and shitty as I feel right now I’m actually looking forward to hot pot myself when I roll in.

Over all, I trended a bit slower on this run and as my legs felt a little more leaden then usual and my energy levels weren’t quite up to par as they have been on other fartlek’s recently (Texas aside, that is).  Whether it was the wind and rain, or the last two days of outdoor riding I’m not sure.  But they have all day Friday and most of Saturday to recover before the main event in Hamilton on Sunday.

God help me.

P.S.> you can listen to these tracks yourself by clicking HERE.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

