Easter Vinyl (Part 1)

The Easter Bunny was good to HRH  this morning by bringing a little added awesomeness to her personal record collection, starting with this ‘Eye of the Tiger‘  album by Survivor.

Survivor

Now, I realize it’s not exactly “Easter Music”, but given what Jesus went through today I guess I could rationalize that Jesus was the original “Survivor” making this the perfect album to play.

Plus, it’s a pretty kick ass cover.

When I asked HRH  from where she originally heard about this album, I was informed that she had heard ‘Eye of the Tiger‘  on an episode of ‘The Voice: Kids Australia‘ on YouTube.  Of course, the rest of us will probably know the song from ‘Rocky III‘.  Who could ever forget that epic training montage?  As a kid, I thought that was the coolest thing ever.

Truth of the matter though is that the song, written in 1982 by guitarist Frankie Sullivan and keyboardist Jim Peterik, was done so at the request of ‘Rocky III’  star, writer, and director Sylvester Stallone after Queen denied him permission to use ‘Another One Bites the Dust‘, the song he originally intended to use as the movies theme in the film.  The version of the song (‘Eye of the Tiger‘) that appears in the movie is actually the demo version of the song and also contained added tiger growls, something that did not appear on the album version.  It also featured original Survivor singer Dave Bickler on lead vocals.

The album (largely thanks to the “Rocky theme”) gained tremendous MTV and radio airplay and topped charts worldwide during 1982.  In the United States, it held #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart for six consecutive weeks and was the #2 single of 1982, behind Olivia Newton-John’s ‘Physical‘.  The band won a 1982 Grammy Award for “Best Rock Performance by Duo or Group With Vocal” at the 25th Annual Grammy Awards.  It was certified platinum in August 1982 by the RIAA, signifying sales of 2 million vinyl copies. The song had sold over 4.1 million in digital downloads in the United States alone by February 2015 and was voted VH1’s 63rd greatest hard rock song.  The combined sales of the original vinyl release and digital downloads total over 9 million copies today.

Not bad for a one hit wonder, eh?

I mean, seriously, name just one  other song from this album…or by the band for that matter.  I know I can’t couldn’t.  I can now though.  I now know that there’s the Zeppelin-esque ‘Hesitation Dance‘  and the power ballad 80’s style ‘I’m Not That Man Anymore‘ – but nothing here really scales the same height as the title track.  The album though does stand out as a pretty important memento of mainstream rock circa the early 1980’s.

HRH doesn’t give two hoots about any of this history horseshit though.  All she cares about is that she now has the “awesome” ‘Eye of the Tiger‘ song and she can air guitar along to it in the basement.  Something have definitely not changed in the 33 years since it’s release.  What is definitely clear, however, is that no matter how old you are or how you came to associate the album or the popular song, it still kicks some serious ass.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

