Tempo Run (10.5k)

It has been exactly one week since I’ve run or, rather, it one week ago today that I abandoned my easy run somewhere along Woodlawn Lake to sit on a park bench and watch a small dog chase chickens (click HERE) – hardly my finest hour.  I did spin somewhat comfortably yesterday so I’m going to give this afternoon’s tempo run a go and, hopefully, my lungs will cooperate.  My legs feel good (which, yeah, they’ve had six days to relax while the rest of my body suffers) so I’m hoping everything comes together nicely.  Worse comes to worse I’ll just get in 60 minutes or so and feel like I’ve accomplished something.  I have chosen for this run another selection from Patterson Hood‘s list of the Best Albums of 2015, ‘What a Terrible World, What a Wonderful World‘  by the Decemberists.

the-decemberists-what-a-terrible-world-608x608

Okay, the album didn’t necessarily make the Top 10 list, but it did make the “Honorable Mention” list which, for me, is close enough.  Hey, if it catches Patterons’ ear enough to simply get mentioned, then that shit is good enough for me!  You can click HERE for other “Patterson Picks”.

What a Terrible World, What a Wonderful World‘  was released a little over a year ago in January of 2015, and takes it’s title from a line in the song ‘12/17/12‘, a reference to the date of Barack Obama’s speech in response to the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting and lead singer Colin Meloy’s conflicting feelings about the shooting and his happy personal life.  The album sees the return of the band after a four year hiatus and shows a band refreshed, while enriching its trademark folk rock with 70’s pop plushness and hooks.  Oh, and there’s a tongue-in-cheek tune about cunnilingus as well (‘Philomena‘).

From the soaring, bittersweet first single ‘Make You Better‘ which seems to beg forgiveness from the bands fanbase in making this whole musical transition to the ruminating ballad ‘Lake Song‘, and anthemic closer ‘A Beginning Song‘, the album establishes itself as the bands most varied and dynamic work to date, both musically and emotionally.  Truthfully, I was prepared to brush the band off as simply more “hipster bullshit”, but it turned out to have much more depth.  There’s some country-tinged ramblers, thoughtful mountain ballads, and one hell of a slow-burning anthem to close it all out; true Americana all the way.

The run went…okay.  The good news is that I was able to complete the 60 minute (10.5k) I had pre-plotted to run and ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning felt infinitely stronger than they did last week.  The down side is that m breathing and heart rate are still a bit labored meaning I’m definitely not 100% healed yet, so I broke the tempo bit into two sections, the first being 20 minutes at a <5:00min/km  pace and the 2nd 10 minutes (5:00min/km) divided by a short 5 minute recovery jog.  Hopefully, this way my body won;t be quite so shocked afterwards (so far, so good) and I will stand a better chance at successfully completing Thursday fartlek run which is surely going to suck.

Successes:  8th overall on Strava ‘Windmill Sprint‘ (3:53); 2nd fastest time on ‘Bernard to Centralia‘ Strava segment (3:55)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Tempo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

