Flight DL3675 from San Antonio to Detroit (Part 1)

Finally on my way home – thank Christ!  I’m now sitting beside a petit Asian girl who hasn’t stopped staring at me since I sat down.  She’s no doubt calculating the odds of her getting off this gigantic steel fart tube without having contracted my germs.  Well, honey, let me tell you, they’re about as good as you getting off with all your limbs intact if they don’t offer me anything other than a single packet of complimentary nuts.  Anyway, I’m plugging into some Da Blues courtesy of Albert Collins‘ ‘Funky Blues Live: 1973‘.

518eed1hnpl-_sy300_

Albert Collins is another go-to artists for these trips to the Lone Star State.  I had originally intended to listen to this on my second fartlek run on Wednesday had it happened but, yeah, we already know how the first one turned out so instead, Wednesday I ended up eating Whiskeycake from a cardboard box in my hotel bed.  So I’m listening to it now.  In fact, I think Albert Collins was my soundtrack for another aborted run (click HERE) on a previous visit so maybe I should reconsider adding him to my future Texas playlists given he doesn’t seem to be very lucky in that regard.

This particular set was captured from a 1973 concert in Cambridge, Mass.  It accurately captures the Iceman in his early prime and the band is tight and smoking.  Unfortunately the sound quality is not that great and at times it sounds like they guys are playing inside of a coffee can.  Still – there’s no such thing as a bad Albert Collins album and his music/style compliments Gatemouth Brown perfectly.  If you need a quick fix of sure-fire-funk, play straight ahead to songs ‘Funk Jam‘, ‘Funk Jam 2‘, and ‘Get Down‘, it sounds much-the-same, but it is a funky rhythms delight for approximately 19:30 minutes with almost no lyrics!  A slight variety of ‘oh yeah(s)‘  and ‘uh-huhs‘  supply most of the dialogue.  Then there’s the T-Bone Walker classic ‘Stormy Monday‘ to marvel at.  I should also point out the 10th and final song is from a 1971 unknown venue but it is most certainly Live. ‘Get Your Business Straight‘  may not be as Funky as the trio of songs previously mentioned but it is still very coo (notice how I dropped the ‘L’ to be consistent with the total coolness of this recording…)

It’s a perfect prescription for simply switching off my brain, closing my eyes and trying to forget for the time being that I’m dying and wondering the easiest way to transform the Asian girl beside me into a convenient sashimi roll without also attracting attention.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

