Long (Progression) Run (17.71k)

It’s the tail end of my “Recovery Week” so today’s schedule long “progression” run (17.71k) is only a mere 5 20 minute intervals.  Get that?  “Mere”.  Gawd.  Anyway, for sake of comparison I used the same route that I did 3 weeks ago when I last did this particular progression just to see what the difference was (if any).

Today’s warm up begins with three tracks from some of my “Yoga” playlists.  The first 20 minute intervals warm up built into a comfortable pace leading into the first 20 minute increase heading out along Nigh Rd.

So, as it turns out, the Brazilian multi-instrumentalist and producer/arranger famous for his funky adaptation of the 2001 theme is perfect for the first cadence amp up.  Who knew?  It was excellent.  The sun is out, the sky is clear and I’m running in short sleeves.  And best of all the legs feel….good.  And, hey, how can the lyrics “Keep your head up, keep your heart strong”  not inspire you just a little?  It’s perfect motivation.  I love Ben Howard.  I have to say though, everything is turning over really, really good and I’m managing a 5:00min/km  pace relatively comfortably.  Awesome!

  • High Side (live) – Smokelahoma
  • Tuner In My Back Pocket (live) – Palooka
  • All Along the Watchtower (live)Dave Matthews Band

Time to settle back into a “comfortable” race pace (5:20min/km) along MacDonald Rd. with some inspired live tunes to keep moving to.  I’m feeling really good by this point.  Maybe this cadence thing is beginning to pay off?

  • Got To Get Better In a Little While (live) – Derek & the Dominoes
  • A Daisy Chain 4 Satan – My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult
  • Right Here, Right Now – Fatboy Slim

The 4th interval has me peaking back into the pain closet for a little bit.  Well,, 20 minutes anyway, and directly into the wind along Dominion Rd. – just as last time.  Thing is, my pace is even better than it was during the first (2nd) 5k pace interval and I’m managing to keep it under the 5:00min/km  pace…albeit, it’s still work.  I’m noticing here though that I don;t feel as “beat up” as I have by this point on past runs.  So I’ll take that as a HUGE  victory today.

I could go on but this is a “recovery run” after all so I’m making it a point to dial it back down for the last 15 minutes to a very slow and easy shuffle jog coming back in along Thunder Bay Rd. Despite this pace, I’m looking at an average pace overall for this run of 5:22min/km  which is a great improvement.

I mean, just look at this groovy graphic from Strava:

Strava Data

Cool, right?

The last time I did this run I kept the pace up through the 5th interval and only then managed an average pace of 5:34min/km.  And that’s before all this “cadence” business (click HERE).  Better yet, I covered the same distance with 5 minutes still to spare.  Yay me!  So while I’m still a bit anxious about the whole Around the Bay 30k run in two weeks time, this run indicates that I’ve definitely made some progress this month and, hey, maybe I’m a little more prepared than I thought I was.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

