Long Run (25.35k)

Lord knows I wasn’t exactly excited about this morning’s long progression run (25.35k) after last weeks deemed failure.  However, after a quick pep talk with the new Coach, I am prepared to fail again, albeit, not without a bit of a fight.  In her own words:  “you want to fail in some way shape or form in every workout an opportunity to grow and learn”.  So, if that’s her positive spin on my total perceived shit show last weekend, well, I’m about to give her glass is half full attitude a real reason to celebrate by putting on a complete and total Shitfest with today’s progression run of 7 x 20 minute intervals.  Remember, the focus is on cadence over pace.  This morning’s playlist is thusly:

I’d be lying if I didn’t say that the first 20 minutes at an easy pace wasn’t my favorite part of the run.  Today though is was a few ditties that I really just enjoy rather than finding inspirational or motivating including a song about being “just a poor broken banjo”, a hap-hap-fucking-happy song a a band long after I’d jumped ship, and two unconventional tunes by jam moguls Phish which just happen to contain some pretty positive messages lyrically to get me in the mood heading into the meat and potatoes of the workout.  Oh, and The Strumbella’s are just plain awesome.

Time to really get the mind melon around the task at hand heading into the first interval…keeping focus on the “cadence” over pace.  I have to say:  this is tough stuff.  Good thing these tunes, while not being fast or overly ambitious, are still good mental toughness tunes to help keep me square with the focus at hand.

This third interval is likely the toughest heading out onto House Rd. and keep the cadence fast and furious over gravel roads.  Turning west onto Bowen Rd. though, ‘ol Thunder and Lightning starting firing up enough to manage a sub 5:00min/min  pace thanks to my quick foot turnover, primarily set to the increased driving rhythm of My Morning Jacket and – as it turns out – the slow wind down at the end of the song also happened to lead nicely into the 4th interval which I had planned as more of an easy recovery pace leading up Point Abino Rd. and back towards Crystal Beach.

It might not have been the wisest decision on my part to plan for these tunes during the 4th “recovery” interval.  Meh.  They did keep my mental focus pretty driven though knowing that I was going to have to “up” the cadence again…twice.

Crossing over Garrison Rd. to the sounds of church bells chiming signals the 5th interval and a renewed pace heading up Point Abino Rd. south.  Truthfully, I felt pretty good here and the pace was strong.  I admit though there may have been a few quick shed tears of anger/frustration along the way.

I love this tune.  It was great for keeping my cadence up a even a little higher but, alas, I died immediately afterwards.  However, this also mean that my progressions lasted a little longer than last week and I had even covered more distance.  So while this is officially where my progressions stopped…it wasn’t a total failure.  And if failure was the goal…mission accomplished here along Erie Rd.

20160305_134646

Today’s reward:  waffles w/ strawberry rhubarb compote and maple-whipped cream

The rest was just making it home in one piece – I confess.  There were a little quick bursts here and there when I was able but – really – I was just mostly trying to complete the time while wagering how much distance I could cover.  Oh, and there was the mental image of this afternoons brunch at Bremfield’s to look forward to as well.

So, ultimately, I promised failure and failure there was.  However, knowing that I was able to push even just a little further than last week and keep that cadence a bit longer was pretty motivating.  Likewise, I also covered 4k more than last week while managing to hold the same avg. pace (5:31min/km).

So, yeah, maybe it wasn’t all bad.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

