Spin (Hill Intervals)

Today’s a tough workout day.  I usually try to keep to just the fartlek run’s on Tuesdays and Thursdays given their severe “suckitude” and extreme impact on my body, but time being what is it this week, I will just have to suck it up and slip in two additional workouts this evening as well starting with this hill interval spin.  Today’s spin music is set to the live ‘Crocodile Cafe‘  bootleg by Death Cab for Cutie.

cover

I admit it:  I absolutely no past familiarity with this band, like, at all.  Nada.  Zilch.  I mean, I heard good things from people whose taste in music I respect, but I’ve still retained my initial ignorance regarding the band…except that I happen to know – and it beats me why – that they happen to have taken their name from a song off the 1967 Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band album ‘Gorilla‘.  What can I say?  I’m a literal encyclopedia of useless knowledge n’ shit.  I figured though that tonight would be a opportune time to find check the band out and this live bootleg from the “comforts” of a spin bike saddle.

There is very little on the internet about this live bootleg performance other than it was performed at the Crocodile Cafe in Seattle, WA on April 14th, 2000.  I guess I could also tell you that it wounds very “indie”.  Umm, yeah, that’s about it.  So why did I start with a live performance as my first taste the of the band?  Well, it’s exactly 6o minutes long – the same length as this particular hill workout.  Truthfully, that was my entire thought process.

I’d love to tell you more about it but not being very knowledge about the group or their music, I figured I’d just link you so you could listen to it yourself (click HERE).  What I will say is that it was great performance to what sounded to be a very receptive and intimate audience.  ‘Scientist Studies‘  was awesome and I really enjoyed the moody introspect of ‘No Joy In Mudville‘. It’s definitely a bootleg given the failed attempt at ‘President of What?‘…which is what makes live performances so great.

Was it amazing  music to spin to?  No.  Not particularly.  Was it cool?   Yeah, I guess.  Suffice to say…it was interesting and I’ll definitely check out more in the near(ish) future.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Spin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

