Fartlek Run (11.25k)

It’s Fartlek Day, oh joy!  The good news is though that despite the fact I was running in gorgeous Spring weather this past Sunday, in short-sleeves no less (the run itself was not so “gorgeous”), we’re currently expecting 15-20cm of snow this afternoon in what could be the biggest snow storm of the year so far so it’s time to break out the stretchy pants.  Awesome.  And we all remember how my last fartlek in the snow went, right (click HERE)?  So that means getting these damn 4 x 4 minute and 2 x 3 minute intervals (11.25k) done and over with early before Old Man Winter decides to throw his shit fit upon the citizens of Niagara.  Today’s motivation is a little from the Dad Rock catalog of my CD collection, the ‘Slip, Stitch and Pass‘  album by Phish.

ph298063

There was a time when Kelly was interested in what different types of music I listened to and I recommended this album to check out (click HERE).  Since then, though, she’s just accepted that I like just about everything  aside from the popular mainstream pop pablum she plays in the car and trying to keep up with all my musical interests is exhausting work.  Having said that, this album was still a good introduction to my “eclecticness” and I don’t think she minded it all that much.

‘Slip, Stitch and Pass’  is the second official live album (the first being ‘A Live One‘) by the neo-hippie jammers.  It was released on October 28th, 1997, by Elektra Records and showcases nine tracks from the band’s March 1st, 1997, show at the Markthalle Hamburg in Hamburg, Germany, which was part of the bands 1997 European Tour.

Three of the album’s nine songs are cover songs: ‘Cities‘  from Talking Heads, ‘Jesus Just Left Chicago‘ (which I arranged to be my slow warm-up tune leading into the intervals proper) from ZZ Top and the traditional a cappella standard ‘Hello My Baby‘  which was a nice change of pace for my 2 minutes of walking following my last 3 minute interval. In addition, during the final jam segment of ‘Mike’s Song‘, a groovy fast-paced number, the band quotes (or ‘teases’) Pink Floyd‘s ‘Careful with That Axe, Eugene‘  and elements and lyrics from The Doors song ‘The End‘  which, truthfully, were both a bit disturbing to hear when your heart rate is pushing north of 165bpm.  Fortunately, the close of ‘Weekapaug Groove‘  interpolates the end section of the Rolling Stone‘s ‘Can’t You Hear Me Knocking‘ which is pretty rocking in any regard.

Overall, It’s a pretty solid performance and takes the listener on a real mind-bending journey, even though I’m just completing the same ‘ol out and back route along Thunder Bay Rd. for the umpteenth time.  This time however, I managed to run straight into a manhunt for a missing Crystal Beach woman (click HERE) complete with search planes, helicopters, dogs, police, and rescue personnel.  So if you see any temporary discrepancies in the pace it may be due to suddenly being surprised by a police officer emerging out of the bushes along the side of the road or I was distracted by something resembling a 67-year old woman in a red jacket lying in the brush along MacDonald Rd. which turned out to be a discarded Burger King bag.

Sherlock Holmes I clearly am not.

Anyway, expanding on Sunday’s “cadence” failure my focus today was not in keeping any certain pace but to maintain a fast foot turnover or cadence.  This is proving to be very challenging…but effective.  The idea being that forward movement only happens when your feet strike the ground, so it would behoove me to get them off the ground as quickly as possible.  Oh, and there is also scientific evidence that suggests that by developing a quicker cadence I can also decrease the “landing shock” I absorb through my body and therefore decrease my risk of injury (click HERE).  And that  is some good shit!  So suck as it might, I’m going to keep working at this thing until either it becomes more natural or it (and it may) kills me.

Successes:  2nd fastest time along Strava ‘Thunder Bay Rd.‘ segment (10:07), 3rd fastest time along ‘Windmill to Stonemill‘ segment (3:39)

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

