Long Run (21.62k)

Today’s long progression run is calling for 6 x 20 minute intervals at an increasing pace.  Sounds like fun, right?  Sure…”fun”.  Let’s go with that.  Later, HRH  and I are attending a record fair in St. Catharines but, first things first, I have this 21.62k workout to complete.  So as per the last three weeks, I have put together a unique playlist to keep things motivated with an amped up pace every 20 minute or so to keep me moving.

  • Sweet Emotion – Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon
  • Damn It Feels Good to be a Gangsta – The Ghetto Boys
  • Soul Singing – The Black Crowes
  • Run – The Strumbellas

Keeping it light and easy heading out of town down Ridge Rd.  Leo Kottke covering Aerosmith, gangster rap, to hippie jam band to recent Canadiana indie darlings.  These first few songs o today’s playlist might be the weirdest segue of warm-up tunes I’ve ever strung together.

  • Run – Collective Soul
  • Tompkins Square – Mumford & Sons
  • Kyle’s Song – moe.
  • Daughters of the Chaos – Luscious Jackson
  • How Do You Like Me Now? – The Heavy

Beginning to ramp up the pace just a bit.  This time around rather than focusing on pace I’ve been instructed by the Coach to focus on “cadence” instead and just keep the turnover of my feet quicker.  Okay, let’s try that.  So I have a few good tunes for running queued here to remind me to keep the feet moving a little quicker that usual here.  Special note here that Luscious Jackson was a band I enjoyed on the dance floors back in university (when I did stuff like, well, dancing).  Turns out it’s still pretty cool and has a good rhythm to keep that first interval increase going.

Time to start getting into tough guy mode with some old school rock.  Well, both old school and new school rock, but rock nonetheless.  This foot turnover thing is sure trickier than I originally expected but I did manage a few 5:00min/km  paces and at time, even below that.  Maybe I can do this!

Time to begin getting serious…really  serious.  I’m already tired and sore and my heart rate is soaring but I still have two more 20 minute intervals to survive as I begin to head back towards town down Ott Rd., aaaaaaaand, directly into a strong headwind.

FML.

Despite my best intentions I died a mere minutes into the headwind.   I tried to use the rapid-paced momentum of these tunes to inspire me along and keep the fast foot turnover going but it was not to be.  I briefly succeeded into getting back into a sub 5:30min/km pace along Bertie Rd. for a spell, but Mother Nature was winning out at sapping my energy quicker than I could muster it.  Especially when I turned back onto Ridge Rd. and directly into the wind once more.

  • Far Away – Junip
  • Stoned & Starving – Parquet Courts
  • What Went Down – The Foals
  • Still In Hollywood – Concrete Blonde

Despite the absolute “kick-assery” of these tunes it was all I could do to limp home with my tail between my legs for the final 20 minutes feeling very disappointed with myself.  I guess I’m not going to win them all.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Long and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment