Vinyl Sunday (Part 1)

FINALLY!   It’s my recovery day which means absolutely no commitment to swim, bike or run.  Nada.  Zilch-o.  In fact, the only workout I’m counting on today is working the short stack of pancakes I had for breakfast through my colon and periodically getting out of my EZ-Boy to either poop, replenish my beverage, or flip the record over.  I’d also like to get a bit of blogging done today (aside from this music blog that is) and later we’re visiting the Mokus Hawaiian restaurant with the Coach and family.  My first vinyl selection this afternoon to kick-start the whole Vinyl Sunday celebration is ‘Chicago Jazz Classics (Vol.2)‘, so I guess I could also consider pumping the enormous volume of blood to my raging Jazz Boner this afternoon a “workout” as well.

IMG_20160221_115026

Chicago, Il has been a major center for music where distinctive forms of blues and jazz flourished largely thanks to the the “Great Migration” of poor black workers from the South into the industrial cities.  With them they brought brought traditional jazz to the city, resulting in a distinct “Chicago-style” Dixieland jazz.  King Oliver and Jelly Roll Morton became the two big stars initially of the Chicago jazz scene.  Shortly afterwards, Louis Armstrong‘s recordings with his Chicago-based Louis Armstrong and his Hot Five and Hot Seven band came out in the years 1925 to 1928.  These recordings marked the transition of original New Orleans jazz to a more sophisticated type of American improvised music with more emphasis on solo choruses instead of just little solo breaks. This style of playing was adopted by white musicians who favored meters of 2 instead of 4 as well as emphasis’ on solos, faster tempos, string bass and guitar (replacing the traditional tuba and banjo) also distinguish Chicago-style playing from Dixieland.

Important musicians in the Chicago style include Eddie South, Reuben Reeves, Johnny Dodds, Bix Beiderbecke, Eddie Condon, Red McKenzie, Benny Goodman, Pine-Top Smith, Jimmy Blythe, and the Dixieland Jug Blowers.   Even the gangsters of Chicago engaged profiled musicians like Earl Hines, whose benefit was to lead an orchestra in one of the city’s top locations.  Hines and Benny Goodman would later emancipate from the Chicago style when they became two of the most famous band leaders of the swing era.

This compilation album represent 16 tracks by all the masters named above.  Aside from the track listing, I don’t know much about this album truthfully.  I know it’s a UK album from BBC Records released in 1986 but, other than that, it’s a total mystery how it came to be in my collection.  It’s sure a nice listen though.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

