Fartlek Run (10.5k)

Today’s run is going to be difficult…stupid difficult.  The good news is that it’s a balmy -2°C; the bad news it that we’re in the midst of a huge snow storm and a thick white pox is currently falling upon us.  Goodie.  This is bound to make the going, well, interesting through my scheduled sets of 5 x (4 mins hard/1 min recovery), then 2 x (3 mins hard/1 min recovery) over the course of 10.5 hard fought kilometers.  I’m going to need some special motivation today for sure, like the ‘Crash‘  album by the Dave Matthews Band.

dmb_crash

Released on RCA Records in 1996, ‘Crash‘  is the 2nd studio album by the popular Virginian jammers, and which served to cemented them among the best of the Dad Rock alumni.  This album specifically, is among the hallmark* of Dad Rock albums I’m sure.  By March of 2000, the album had sold seven million copies, and was certified 7× platinum by the RIAA.  It still remains as Dave Matthews’ best-selling album.

Fusing together folk-rock, world beat, jazz, and pop, the band is arguably the most musically adept of all their contemporaries such as Blues Traveler, Spin Doctors, Phish…and even that Hootie guy – this album being a prime example.  There’s tons of catchy ear worms on this album to keep ‘ol Thunder n’ Lightning groovin’ to the tempo along slippery roadways.  The album swings from the twangy and up-beat ‘So Much To Say‘  opening to the slow, pondering unwind of the closing ‘Proudest Monkey‘, with lots of groove-rock, funk, jazz, and intensity thrown in between.  The album features the studio-recorded compilations of some songs fans have heard in the their live performances as well such as ‘Two Step‘, ‘Drive In Drive Out’ (which is the only reason I might add why I finished the last two 3 minute intervals), ‘Tripping Billies’, and ‘Proudest Monkey‘  which made for a decent warm-down.  The end result is a wonderfully inviting album that is an addictive alternative to the unsure pop/rock artists of that time.  It’s easy to see why ‘Crash Into Me‘  was the massive success that it was, topping billboard charts across the country for the better part of six months; but, great song that it is, it did very little to motivate my intervals.  So with a little clever manipulation, I moved it to the beginning of the playlist along with ‘Say Goodbye‘  and ‘Cry Freedom‘  to serve as my warm-up prior to beginning the hard work.

And hard  work it was.

Trust me.

Less noticed are tracks like “#41‘  and ‘Too Much‘, which are both real quad-rippers of a tunes and served to keep me going, but, that’s about it.  Given the about zero footing I could get on the road given the stupid conditions out I couldn’t achieve any real pace.  How I ever achieved a 4:20 min/km  at any point is completely beyond me seeing as how it never really felt like I was moving anywhere.  In fact, I’m feeling lucky to simply be alive as that really  sucked.

Fortunately, whatever doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger, right?

Yeah, let’s go with that.

*Show me a 40-something year old male music aficionado who doesn’t have a single Dave Matthews album in their collection and I’ll show you a staunch Democrat who eats frozen pizza four times a week and for whom Friday will always be “laundry night”.
About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Fartlek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

