Hump Day Vinyl

We had an ice storm last night so I stayed home to remain off the roads all safe and sound like  – that’s my story anyway and I’m sticking to it.  Of course, the upshot to this is that I get listen to more vinyl here in my basement office.  Not a bad compromise at all. Ah, shit.  Who am I kidding?  This is awesome.  I totally prefer this to commuting to and from the office which has all the warmth and charm of a radiologists reception area.  Specifically, when I get to listen to something awesome, like the ‘This Weekend’s the Night!‘  album by the Drive-By Truckers.

DBT3

This double live album released last year is the epic, career-spanning live set from the Drive-By Truckers recorded in San Francisco last fall (October). The band’s long-time producer, David Barbe, acquired the necessary mobile gear to record the band and flew out to San Francisco to capture their three-night stand in November of 2014.  The Truckers hired some horns for the occasion, sold some tickets and played three special and unique shows.  From those shows they have sequenced a sort of ultimate live Drive-By Truckers collection, one that captures the essence of the band’s life’s work into one cohesive whole.  ‘This Weekend’s The Night!’ (actually, it’s highlights from the longer, deluxe ‘ It’s Great To Be Alive!’  album released at the same time)  features a 13-track “best of” selection of tracks from the Truckers three-night run at the legendary Fillmore in San Francisco.

God, err, Patterson Hood says:

“We sequenced it to be like kind of an ultimate DBT set list. We never use a set list from night to night so the show is ever evolving, but for this it was like, what would be the ultimate three hour show we could play right now?”

The downside it that this might just be a little more kick ass than I really need to be hearing in between all the other bullshit meeting and coaching sessions going on today.  That aside, like everything the Truckers have done – this is brilliant.  Highlights include the show opener ‘Lookout Mountain‘, Cooley’s ‘Birthday Boy‘, a dark and gritty ‘Goode’s Field Road‘  which doesn’t usually pop in their recent performances very often, and ‘Primer Coat‘, one of the the highlights from their most recent ‘English Oceans‘ album which then leads into an equally amazing ‘Putting People On the Moon‘.  Things then take a bit of quieter turn with Patterson’s awesomely fatigued yet tender ‘A World of Hurt‘.  The really big moments though come on Side 4, with the killer one-two knock out blow that is ‘Zip City‘ (my favorite DBT tune, like, ever) and the epic and lengthy show closer ‘Grand Canyon‘.

So if any of my fellow colleagues at work today should note a particular sense of edginess or angst in my voice during our meetings today, I sincerely apologize.  It’s just that there’s a whole of ass-kicking going on in the basement office today.  I might only be drinking water and noshing on Greek yogurt currently (how hardcore am I?), but I’m kicking ass none the less and that, my friends, is a good thing….a damn good thing.

Unless you’re one of my coachee’s I guess…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

