Flight DL3700 from Minneapolis to Buffalo

I’m exhausted, hungry and grumpy as all fuck.  Thank god then that this is the final leg home otherwise I’m likely to go all Alec Baldwin in a hunger-induced rampage.  Not making matters any better is sitting here on the tarmac deicing while having to listen to that mind-numbing muzac that all Delta flights seem to play in the cabin just before take-off .  As soon as we’re airborne I’m plugged into my last Texas-themed album, ‘Exit 0‘ by Steve Earle.

41kc3dcb8ml

Why I haven’t listened to Steve Earle on my previous trips to San Antonio is, well, sacrilegious really.  Despite his popularity in Nashville, Steve Earle is about as Texas as ten gallon hats.  Released in 1987, this album is credited to both Earle and his touring band, the Dukes.  It was nominated for two 1988 Grammy Awards, Best Male Country Vocalist for the title track, and Best Country Song for ‘Nowhere Road‘.

IMG_20160108_210545

Deicing in Minneapolis

Earle once told a reporter that after listening to the final mix of the album, he and his band hopped on their tour bus and played yet another gig that night, which is what they’d been doing during most of their time off from recording sessions. ‘Exit 0‘  was recorded with Earle’s road band, the Dukes, instead of the usual team of Nashville session pros, and as a consequence it boasts a leaner, tougher sound than his debut, ‘Guitar Town‘, though the slightly slick cookie-cutter production by Tony Brown, Emory Gordy, Jr., and Richard Bennett saps a bit of the music’s power.

The album features a few great songs, including ‘I Ain’t Never Satisfied‘ (which could practically be Earle’s theme song) is an absolute clinic in writing and recording for the sake of the song.  Townes would be proud. ‘The Week of Living Dangerously‘, ‘The Rain Came Down‘, and ‘Sweet Little ’66‘ are all noteworthy, ‘No. 29‘ is a hauntingly, yet sappy sentimental tune, while the TexMex Doug Sahm homage ‘San Antonio Girl‘, about a harlot complete with cheezy “Sam the Sham” Farfisa Organ, is an entirely appropriate closer for this trip.

And with this album in the books, the wheels of the plane have been lowered, the stewardess is reminding me to place my seat back into the upright position and we’re preparing to land in Buffalo.

Thank, Christ.

Home again, home again…

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

