Christmas Vinyl (Part 1)

The breakfast dishes have been put away, the coffee and Bailey’s is flowing, dinner is on the stove and mommy is heading out for a walk.  Time for HRH  and I to go downstairs and enjoy some new Christmas vinyl beginning with….The Lego Movie?

IMG_1001

I know, I know, this is hardly what one might expect to find oneself listening to on Christmas morning but there’s a story to this one…a good one.

About three months ago HRH  made it known that she wanted a copy of this special picture disc version of the Lego Movie soundtrack.  I was like, “Oh no!  I don’t think so.  Not on my watch”.   I mean, seriously, I’ve been a good stepdad up to this point and supported her unique taste in music with the likes of Taylor Swift, the Cars, The Muppets, etc, but over my dead body did I want to end up listening to ‘Everything Is Awesome’  over and over and over again ad nauseam.

No way, Jose! 

Anyway, since then, one of the shop employees at SRCvinyl Canada (whose own child also wanted the same album) has been goading me into a war of attrition regarding this particular record; meaning that whoever could hold out the longest on actually purchasing the album would ultimate win in that they would be spared the indelible fate of having to live out ‘Everything Is Awesome‘  hell come Christmas morning.  And as of this past Wednesday, when the record was allocated to the discount bin for $15, I lost…being the sucker I am.

So, yeah, here I am on Christmas morning with coffee and Bailey’s in hand while HRH  plays ‘Everything Is Awesome‘ over and over and over and over, while that store employee is inevitably listening to something infinitely cooler and laughing her ass off at my expense.

Gawd.

Shoot me now.

The things we step-parents do to make our step-kids love us.  Hey, at least I have a new addition to my Shit List I suppose.

Bah humbug.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

