Functional Strength/Core

It’s Tuesday, so that means it’s down to my usual Tuesday routine including a hill run later on and this functional strength/core workout this afternoon in my basement…in my underwear…to a record…with the “Coach”, Tina the Cat.  And, lately, part of this Tuesday routine has been working my way through my John Mayall albums.  Today, it just happens to to be ‘No More Interviews’.

20151124_115335

I love this album cover and I’m not really sure why.  It looks as if ‘ol John is relaxing with the morning news in what could be your grandmother’s living room while waiting for a cup of Earl Grey.  Not that any hippie would ever be caught dead in my grandmother’s living room, don’t get me wrong.

In researching the albums “deets”, I found there is not really a lot to find on the Interweb thingee.  All I could find was that it was a blues album, released in 1979 (I was 7 years old at the time) and it was released on DJM Records.  So, really, nothing I couldn’t also determine from the album cover itself.  Oh, it does this have really amazing picture of the band on the back:

20151124_115305

I mean, seriously, how awesome is this pic of rag tag hippies?  Grandma would most certainly would not  approve.  I do love the Superman Underroo’s though.

the album was recorded at the Kendun Studio D, in Los Angeles, California between July 16th and 31st, 1979.  Along with ‘Bottom Line‘ (also in my collection somewhere) this album never was released on CD – making this album pretty rare stuff.  Yay me!

As far as the music goes, there is definitely some fine Mayall-esque blues going on here to fuel my sets of planks, push-ups, sit-ups and other mat bullshit.  Featured musicians on the album, as well as Mayall’s ever-evolving cast of character’s is James Quill Smith (guitars), Rick Vito (12-string and slide guitar), Chris Cameron (piano, keyboards), Christiaan Mostert (soprano/tenor sax and flute) Angus Thomas (bass), Ruben Alvarez (drums) and Maggie Parker (vocals).  I think that’s one of the biggest draw I have to John Mayall in that he always seems to reinventing himself by the band he assembles for each album.  There’s something intriguing about that.  Especially when you consider that other notable musicians like Eric Clapton, Mick Taylor and Peter Green all passed through his ranks at some point. That’s pretty fucking impressive as all three have gone on to be powerhouses in their own forthright, while Mayall himself continues on in relative obscurity.  Really, how often does the name “John Mayall” come up when you talk about Da Blues with other people?

From beginning to end it was like I was hearing the album for the very first time and, in truth, it probably was.  I don’t recall when or where I originally picked up this album or, really, having ever listened to it before.  That’s completely my bad.  Side One opens up with a rollicking ‘Hard Going Up‘ followed up about a song about pie (‘A Bigger Slice of Pie‘) which was a bit torturous given that there s no pie to be had in my household currently.  Dammit!  ‘Take me Home Tonight‘ sung by Alvarez is the highlight though and the last track, ‘Sweet Honey Bee‘ is a nice way to wrap things up.

Side Two is a bit too “schmoopy blues” for my liking, but ‘Gypsy Lady‘ sung by Maggie Parker is not without it’s charm featuring some cool flute and harmonica solos.  The real saving grace however is the last track, ‘Wild New Lover‘ which hits like a rolling wave with Mayall’s horn section fluttering in and out and the guitars creating a wall of background noise that float around and frame the overall moodiness of the track.  Definitely a highlight.

And with that quick afternoon mat routine in the bag, it’s back to my Powerpoints and upcoming coaching sessions but, first, a well deserved roast beef sandwich and a bowl of warm homemade apple sauce.

Oh, hey, I also discovered that you can listen to this album HERE. Roast beef sandwich not included.

You’re welcome.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

