Functional Strength/Core

I’m working from home today so that means I get to have a leisurely late morning workout after my breakfast omelet and coffee (and let’s not forget about the prerequisite post-breakfast poop of course) and, hell, I’m even still in my underwear.  How awsome is that?  This mornings mat routine then has been set to another record I picked up from the end of summer sale at Paper Bag Records, the debut release by Grey Lands, ‘Songs by Other People‘.

IMG_0701

*SQUEAL!!*

ERMAHGERD, it’s a pretty blue color!  It even matches my balance disc!

YAY!

Oh, sorry.

I got carried away there.

A-n-yhoo….

Grey Lands is the new project by Wayne Petti of Cuff the Duke featuring eight cover tracks with some of  Canada’s finest musicians including: Hayden, Greg Keelor (Blue Rodeo), Sarah Harmer, Joel Plaskett, Nils Edenloff (Rural Alberta Advantage) and Randy Bachman.

“I wanted to acknowledge where I had been, musically,” Petti says.  So there are songs by Bob Dylan and Buffy Ste-Marie, by Sloan, all filtered through Petti’s own unique musical prism.  The music is far noisier than any Petti’s previous work which isn’t what I had currently envisioned when I first slapped the record on the turntable and assumed my position on the mat..but I’m rolling with it.

His choice of pals, specifically, is what gives it that scrappy, yet balanced quality.  For example, there’s Greg Keelor, shouting alongside Petti on Dylan’s ‘My Back Pages‘, only to be buffetted by Sarah Harmer, who coyly duets  on Lee Hazlewood’s ‘Sand‘.   All of these guests, are musicians Petti has either supped with or toured with or simply meandered alongside at some point.  Particular favorites include the impassioned version of Sloan’s ‘Coax Me‘  with Mike O’Neill, the grungy yet delicate ‘Girl From the North Country‘ with Joel Paskett and, yes, although I realize I’m being a bit biased given my love of all things Blue Rodeo – Greg Keelor in particular – I’m pretty fond of Dylan’s ‘My Back Pages’  as well.

One of the other perks of these home sessions (besides being in my underwear, of course) is that I can open the windows and do my series of planks, push-ups, and other pontsy stuff in the fresh air and sunshine that filters through the basement window and all within easy reach of my coffee mug seeing as it’s so gorgeous out today.  Okay, honey, you win that round.  It does, however, mean that I also have to compete for the warm floor space in the ever shifting sunbeam with Tina the Cat, who looks on this morning as my “Coach”.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in On the Mat, Vinyl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

