Tempo Run (6.5k)

I’m back at ‘er this morning with – believe it or not – a 6.5k tempo run. I guess this would qualify itself as my first tempo run of my off-season training.  I didn’t intend it to be a tempo run when I woke up; it just sorta happened.  After the first kilometer or so running under the light of Venus in the eastern sky, I just kind of slipped into a steady, somewhat comfortable pace and just decided to stick with it for the next 5 kilometers or so (hovering around 5:00min/km).  Good for me.  Maybe it was the good tunes I happened to be listening to, the ‘Figure It Out‘  album by P.S. I Love You.

This Kingston-based folk-rock band is getting to be one of my favorite Canadian bands…if I actually had one.  As with most things, it all depends on the day.  So, let’s just say they would probably now make my Top 10…again, if I actually had one.

Essentially, ‘Figure It Out‘  is a B-side/rarities album (more of an EP actually) released a year after their debut ‘Meet Me at the Muster Station‘ (see link above) on Paper Bag Records.  Sure it might be weird to release such an album so early in their career but, shit, who am I to judge?  The purpose of ‘Figure It Out’   is ultimately two-fold: Its first side shines a light on the band’s pre-‘Muster Station’  origins, while the second brings us up to date on what the band has been up to since the album’s release.

Side One begins with the delicate ‘Subtle and Majestic‘  which might suggest that the band are being extra careful not to wake up the neighbors, which is apres peuu given the time of day and the total absence of drivers on the road.  Then it kicks off into the rather lewdly entitled instrumental ‘Facelove‘, which is where my tempo pace began in earnest if that gives you any indication of it’s awesomeness.  Then there’s ‘Actually (I Am A Monster Now)‘  and the Neil Young-ian acoustic ditty ‘Notes and Stuff‘  which suggest more than a few dues paid at local coffeehouse open-mic nights.

Side Two then brings us back to familiar, present-tense territory.  The band confidently navigate the spectrum from the ridiculous to the righteous, shifting between the endearingly stoopid Pixies karaoke of ‘Starfield‘ (which celebrates what is presumably the ultimate sci-fi geek fantasy of “fuck-fuck-fucking on the back of a flying space lion”) and the gleaming, majestic Diamond Rings collaboration ‘Leftovers‘.  In tandem, these songs reinforce what PS I Love You seem to do so well: they handle the silly and serious stuff with equal conviction and drown them both in so much volume and distortion that you’re not sure which side they’re playing on anymore.  And you also have to give full credit to their version of Madonna’s ‘Where’s the Party?‘.  And so it goes one and on for the next 5k worth of pacing down Nigh Rd. and up Burleigh Rd.  The real coup d’etat  though is the rollicking rendition of the Rush classic ‘Subdivisions‘  which, to me, is even better than the original.  I realize what a bold claim that is but, remember, I’m no lover of Rush and think that Getty Lee’s voice is right up there with nails on a chalkboard so I have no real qualms making that kind of statement.  However you feel about Rush, it really is a great version.

With this cherry-busting tempo run out of the way this morning, I suppose I’m ready to kick off the rest of the off-season run training season which, hopefully, will also include a weekly morning tempo run.  I don’t know why exactly, but I find seem to find it easier to do these runs in the morning as opposed to later in the day after a full work day.  the challenge, of course, is dragging my ass out of bed.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Tempo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

