Walk

It has been a long week of relative inactivity given this whole back bullshit.  Not exactly the start to Ironman training I had hoped for.  So what did the aspiring repeat Ironman do for a workout today?  Walk to the Avondale for a bag of Ruffles and to check my lottery ticket.  It’s wasn’t a winner.  I did, however, manage to get out to hear some awesome music at the Sanctuary with Uncle Lance and Aunt Amy (more on that front shortly) and after a night I haven’t seen since 3rd university (involving, apparently, a performance of my patented “fountain of vomit” routine in our bathroom to which I only admit here not as a statement of celebration or pride, but more of a shameful expression of guilt on part.

And tonight’s award for the ‘Most Amazing Wife Ever In the History of the World’  goes to..

We were also able to have our friends and family over for our delayed  backyard BBQ yesterday.  So this afternoon I’m all about decompressing with, yup, another walk…sans Garmin, with no anticipated time, and totally au natural.  I think I might have even read somewhere that workouts still count when their off the books.  And by “off the books”, I really just mean No Strava.

Gasp!

My music of choice for this afternoons el fresco neighborhood ramble are the two ‘In Our Time’ EP’s by Cuff the Duke that Paper Bag Records was nice enough to send along for free as part of my last record purchase with their Summer Vinyl Sale.  Pretty awesome, right?

LOVE those guys.

Cuff and Paper Bag…

Cuff and the gang recorded this as a special covers EP to be released in two parts, featuring songs by some of their favorite artists by whom they felt best influenced their own sound and style.  These tunes include artists like the Dum Dum Girls (‘Always Looking’), John Lennon (‘Instant Karma‘, Bill Fay (‘I Hear Your Calling‘), Guided by Voices (‘Smothered in Hugs‘), Sonic YouthThe Diamond Sea‘, Bee Gee’s (‘I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You‘), David Bowie (‘Star‘),  Byrds (‘Nashville West’), Fred Squire (‘You Sing Low and We Will Sing High‘), Gene MacLellan (‘Face In the Mirror‘),  Buzzcocks (‘What Do I Get‘),  and Smog (‘Cold Blooded Times‘).   Hows that for inspiration?  This was the second project in a series of releases by the band back in 2012 to follow up to their full length Juno Nominated album at the time, ‘Morning Comes‘…not that any of that matters now.

Anyway, the lottery ticket wasn’t a winner and tonight I may or may not be munching on “Loaded Potato Skins” flavored chips.  Don’t judge me.  Besides, what better way to start a new beginning than the epic tail end of a big finish?

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Walk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

