Jamming Away in Corporate Hell (Part 1)

It’s has been a very long exhausting weekend complete with two early morning 2:00am wake-up calls, one Olympic distance triathlon complete, and one fourteen hour day spent on the bike mount line for the SunRype TRi-Kids Triathlon.  Add to that two huge ass hamburgers polished off, a large 12 slice pizza laid to waste and more than enough beers destroyed in the process and, yeah, I’m tired and not overly excited to be at work today.  Needless to say, I ain’t leaving my desk for shit today.

hqdefaultSo to keep myself entertained for the next eight hours or so while I work on my Powerpoints, I’m checking out the “secret” ‘Drive-in Jam‘  from Saturday’s (August 22nd) Phish Magnaball Festival at the Watkins Glen International Speedway in Watkins Glen, NY.

During these weekend long festivals, it has become tradition now for the band to perform some sort of “secret” unexpected set of music and on the Saturday, the tradition continued with this set played behind the drive-in theater screen (hence it’s name) that was playing late-night movies the previous two nights, and like a lot of their previous secret sets it was full of glorious jamming and improvisation (click HERE to give it a listen for yourself).

It’s spacey (not this guy), weird and largely improvisational which, for the record, tends to be my favorite kind of Phish sets.  Starting with the words “And now…. Its Showtime”  that faded into oblivion, signaling the start of the madness, the group shifted from ambient through more typical Phishy-style jam themes. The band, still hidden behind the screen, then fed off each other tightly, listening intently and moving through various ideas with gusto.  At times heavy, at times light; the whole improvised instrumental ran for about an hour.  Near the end, abstract projections of the band members appeared on the screen in what must have been quite the fun way to end a full day of Phish music.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

