Easy Run (5k)

The initial plan was to run this morning but it was pissing down rain so I decided to run when I arrived this evening.  What a mistake!  It’s hot and gross here in San Antonio thanks to a Texas flood-sized deluge that just fell from the sky moments prior to landing; but still I went out anyway.

I figure this might be one of my last times running around Woodlawn Lake so I wanted to take advantage of that opportunity since the rains have let up temporarily.  My planned 8 x 400m  intervals however immediately went by the wayside however about 30 seconds into the run with the 97% humidity which made breathing akin to sucking air through a straw.  Basically, I was lucky to complete this easy…very easy…5k run as my lungs pretty much liquified in my chest. My intended kick ass soundtrack, though, remained the same:  the awesome ‘Eliminator‘  album by ZZ Top.

By now, it’s not a trip to Texas (or a run around Woodlawn Lake for that matter) without at least one album by the beards; it’s pretty much a tradition at this point.

Something wicked this way comes...

Something wicked this way comes…

This album was my first official taste of the Top after seeing Wendy Frazier sashay around the television on MTV as a kid.  Oh, and let’s not forget those spinning, fuzzy pink Dean guitars and black and red 1933 Ford coupe which would appear in all their videos and become the popular icon most associated with the band going forward.

The album was one of the most successful releases of the time with sales over 10 million copies in the US alone; largely thanks to that ‘Legs‘  video I expect.  The album would become on of the 3 top albums ever released by the beards.   The 3 lead off tracks, ‘Gimme All Your Lovin‘, ‘Under Pressure‘  and ‘Sharp Dressed Man‘  alone were more than enough to get you totally revved up (unless you’re currently running around Woodlawn Lake that is).  ‘Legs‘  and the often overlooked and under appreciated ‘TV Dinner‘  made up the other two hit singles off the album.

The reward.

The reward.

Basically, this album represents the sound of the times with it’s heavy reliance on synthesizers first established in their 1981 album ‘El Loco‘.  I could have down without the cheesy Gloria Estefan and the Miami Sound Machine drum loops on ‘Thugs‘  though.  The rest of it totally works though and Rolling Stone would rank it at #396 on their list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time and #39 on the 100 Greatest Albums of the 80’s.  And, now, with that total shit-show of a run behind me, I can now embark on Phase 2 of the usual Woodlawn Lake tradition:  a guilt-free Bacon Cheeseburger at Sam’s Burger Joint.

About crazytigerrabbitman

I am a fat guy and always will be in the same way they say that “once an alcoholic; always an alcoholic”. Eventually I got upset about my poor health and ballooning body frame so I decided to change things for the better. Some people sign up for Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or whatever fad diet program it is that happens to be occupying the majority of air time on the boob tube. Other people prefer to run out and purchase the latest, fold away, piece of shit being hawked by some celebrity has-been. Me? I decided to take up triathlon. I had abused my body over the years with bacon cheeseburgers, pints of beer and double-dipped donuts, and the time had now come to abuse my body with physical exertion, perseverance and hard work instead; penitence in it's purest form. The time had come to kick my ass. I am Terry Nash and I am the “fat and the furious”.
This entry was posted in Easy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

